Go Back   Winnipesaukee Forum > Winnipesaukee Forums > Boating
Home Forums Gallery Webcams Blogs YouTube Channel Classifieds Calendar Register FAQDonate Members List Today's Posts

Old 06-11-2012, 06:22 PM   #1
surfnsnow

Default pontoon boat veterans

i am close to buying a new pontoon boat, i know there have been other posts on this subject but i am hoping to be specific. i have test driven the excursion from sheps and the berkely from irwin ( kind of prefer the berkely so far) i am staying in the 20'-23' range ,60-115hp. have yet to try premier or bennington. besides price what else should i be concernered about? i am a deep vee veteran of the big lake and understand the nastiness our beautiful lake can visit upon us at times

thanks
surfnsnow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2012, 09:14 PM   #2
ishoot308

Thanked 4,943 Times in 1,918 Posts

I can't recommend three pontoons enough. You didn't say in your post but hopefully that is what you are getting. My recommendation is always three toons and as much horsepower as you can afford. If you boat in the early spring or late fall a full canvas transom enclosure sure comes in handy also!

Good Luck!

Dan
ishoot308 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2012, 12:59 AM   #3
Greene's Basin Girl

We just purchased a Harris pontoon boat from Melvin Village Marina. The length is 24' 8". I have a 150 HP Honda on it. It has a Piii Package (3rd Tube, Full Skin Kit, Lifting Strakes, 16" Crossmembers). We were out in the broads on Sunday and it handled all the boat waves smoothly. Matt Young (the owner of
Melvin Village Marina) is great to work with. We are getting a new dock built. Until it is done he is letting us use one of his marina boat slips free of charge. When we were looking we also liked the Bennington's. Channel Marine sells that pontoon brand. We also looked at 3 other brands, but we decided on the Harris. We couldn't be happier.
Attached Images

Greene's Basin Girl is offline   Reply With Quote