Go Back   Winnipesaukee Forum > Winnipesaukee Forums > Boating
Home Forums Gallery Webcams Blogs YouTube Channel Classifieds Calendar Register FAQDonate Members List Today's Posts

Old 08-17-2012, 09:44 PM   #1
NHWakesurfer

Default How close is too close

I'm new to this but wanted to throw out a question to see if I'm over reacting while pulling skiers, wakeboards etc... I've been boating for a long time on smaller lakes but the last several years on Winni since we bought a place here. Which we love. But I've never seen such lake of commonsense as I have this year.

Here is the question it seems like this year other boaters get very close while we are pulling a rider. I've had jet ski's and boats following behind us when we have someone skiing (they are more than 150 feet but still closing fast) (if my skier dropped they'd be in the path of them, people tubing in circles around us while sitting still try to get a skier ready to go while in the water (causing huge rocking montion for the boat) . Many many boats pulling a tube zig zagging back and forth and you can't tell which way they are coming at you to the point of having to turn a 180 to get way from them because they are looking backward and not paying attention. I've had boats that even though I see them coming I keep trying to move away and they keep coming closer and closer directly at my skiier (still more than 150 feet but in the same path and I motion to them I have a skier and to move off they wave and keep coming closer to where I have to turn the boat and drop the skier and swing around quickly to put my boat between the oncoming boat and my rider.

I know when I see ski boats on the shore lines trying to catch calm water I stay as far away from them as I can. When I do tube I go out to the wide open areas where it doesn't matter if there is rougher water not to bother the skiiers. When I see a fishing boat still in the water I slow way down and go as far around as I can not to rock them.