Go Back   Winnipesaukee Forum > Winnipesaukee Forums > General Discussion
Home Forums Gallery Webcams Blogs YouTube Channel Classifieds Calendar Register FAQDonate Members List Today's Posts

Old 09-14-2005, 07:37 AM   #1
Woodsy

Default No More Roof Jumping on Bear Island

Apparently you folks over on Bear Island are out of control....

http://www.citizen.com/apps/pbcs.dll...032/-1/CITIZEN

Its a shame that yet another summer tradition will/has fallen victim to an extremely litigious society.....

Woodsy
Woodsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2005, 08:29 AM   #2
jkjoshuatree

Unhappy Bear Island Mail Dock Jumping...

I've been doing this for over 25 years and so has everyone in my family (Dad included). Over the past 2 years I've been introducing the "roof" to my girlfriend's three kids. They love it (youngest is 8).

I agree with the article. It can be dangerous if you don't know what you're doing. I saw a bunch of "weekend warriors" docked at the maildock and the way they were jumping off the roof was horrifying. I couldn't even watch. I just kept going. I've also seen teenagers jumping from the roof OVER the maildock rather than off the northern tip of the roof, which is the closest to the water.

Being a Bear Island resident, it saddens me it has come to this. I understand that the town owns it though, and they could be liable.

I was just hoping to take my kids (none of my own yet) to the roof for a jump. Its been a tradition for as long as I can remember.
Old 09-14-2005, 09:08 AM   #3
KonaChick

The tradition of jumping after the mailboat leaves isn't from the roof but from the pilons on the dock. We always manage to make it over to Bear Is. a few times each summer to catch the mailboat for ice-cream and watch the kids jump. It's something my kiddos will always remember.
KonaChick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2005, 09:25 AM   #4
PROPELLER