Go Back   Winnipesaukee Forum > Winnipesaukee Forums > Boating
Home Forums Gallery Webcams Blogs YouTube Channel Classifieds Calendar Register FAQDonate Members List Today's Posts

Old 06-12-2016, 07:58 PM   #1
HellRaZoR004

Default Simrad GO7 XSE Chartplotter/Multifunction Display

Has anyone tried this chartplotter? How do you like it for navigating on Winni? I'm intrigued about the engine diagnostics options/chartplotting, but want to know how well the lake is supported for buoys and such?
HellRaZoR004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2016, 10:02 AM   #2
Dave R

Quote:
Originally Posted by HellRaZoR004 View Post
Has anyone tried this chartplotter? How do you like it for navigating on Winni? I'm intrigued about the engine diagnostics options/chartplotting, but want to know how well the lake is supported for buoys and such?
It can use C-map cartography, so it would display the Bizer chart, which I have found to be excellent. I have no experience using a Simrad plotter but from what I read about it, it operates in a shockingly similar manner to my Garmin 741XS (and has pretty much identical features and specs other than radar interface). If true, it is a pleasure to use.

If the Simrad does not come with built-in charts, budget some money for them. FWIW, the Garmin 741XS is 200 bucks more, but has all the cartography for the US lakes, rivers and coast pre-loaded, and you can a radar to it.

What year/model engine do you have (or what ECU do you have?)? Connecting your engine to an NMEA2000 backbone may require an adapter.
Dave R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2016, 11:48 AM   #3
HellRaZoR004

Hello Dave, thanks for the feedback.

I don't have a radar arch on my boat, so no need for the radar functionality. Great option though. You make a very valid point about the maps, and that's exactly why I wanted feedback. Sounds like for equivalent price I could get the Garmin setup (as it already has great maps).