Go Back   Winnipesaukee Forum > Winnipesaukee Forums > Boating
Home Forums Gallery Webcams Blogs YouTube Channel Classifieds Calendar Register FAQDonate Members List Today's Posts

Old 01-31-2005, 05:19 PM   #1
upnorth

Default Which boat??

Hi all,

I'm new to the lakes, to this forum and to boating. The info here is great and I thought I'd ask a question of my own. I want to buy a boat and I've narrowed my choices down (I think!) to two: Crownline 202BR and Four Winns Horizon 200. Any thoughts on these or local dealers? I read the posts about Crownline and there is nothing but good things to say; my issue with the 202BR is mostly seating style. (We are a family of 5 with 3 small kids -- my suspicion with the sport seating is that it will be hard for the kids to get in from and out to the swim platform when we go tubing). The Horizon got great reviews from a recent boating magazine, is a bit less expensive and the seating style works. What am I overlooking? Also, any thoughts on engine sizes and injected vs. carbureted. Thanks!
upnorth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2005, 09:23 PM   #2
Just Sold

I would ask which lake, Winninpesaukee of Winnisquam, are you planning on being on. Both lakes have dealers for both manufactures. Winnipesauke can be a little rougher at times and that is a consideration in a boat purchase and the boats ability to handle rougher conditions. If it is $$$ the Four Winns is the top choice and its sounds from your observations that the Four Winns has what you are looking for (seating arrangement) in a boat. If you are going to be on a lake for a whole day then a place to lay down or a private, or semi private, porta poti is a must for the woman in my family. Certainly eliminates a side trip to a shore facility.