Go Back   Winnipesaukee Forum > Support Forum > Site Support Forum
Home Forums Gallery YouTube Channel Classifieds Links Blogs Calendar Register FAQDonate Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-18-2015, 02:48 PM   #1
SIKSUKR
Senior Member
 
SIKSUKR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 5,014
Thanks: 214
Thanked 887 Times in 500 Posts
Default Is there a new server for Winni Forum?

Many times threads are started to complain. This is the opposite. Today my response time is lightning fast. Less than 1 second to open or close a thread. Never saw it this fast.
__________________
SIKSUKR
SIKSUKR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2015, 05:43 PM   #2
Descant
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Merrimack and Welch Island
Posts: 1,141
Thanks: 303
Thanked 320 Times in 196 Posts
Default Always fast

Mine has always been quick like you describe. Maybe some upgrade in the line coming to you computer, new router/modem, etc. Do you see the same improvement on other sites?
Descant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2015, 07:46 AM   #3
SIKSUKR
Senior Member
 
SIKSUKR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 5,014
Thanks: 214
Thanked 887 Times in 500 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Descant View Post
Mine has always been quick like you describe. Maybe some upgrade in the line coming to you computer, new router/modem, etc. Do you see the same improvement on other sites?
Actually no and thats why I posted it. This is through Comcast at work. Nothing changed here that I know of.
__________________
SIKSUKR
SIKSUKR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2015, 09:13 AM   #4
Phantom
Senior Member
 
Phantom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Hudson, Ma / Gilford
Posts: 1,533
Thanks: 242
Thanked 398 Times in 229 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SIKSUKR View Post
This is through Comcast at work. .
Looking at Winni.Com at work ?

I'm aghast .......... .


.
__________________
A bad day on the Big Lake (although I've never had one) - Still beats a day at the office!!
Phantom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2015, 09:16 AM   #5
Pineedles
Senior Member
 
Pineedles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Moultonborough & CT
Posts: 2,412
Thanks: 944
Thanked 590 Times in 328 Posts
Default

He owns the company.
Pineedles is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Pineedles For This Useful Post:
SIKSUKR (08-19-2015)
Sponsored Links
Old 08-19-2015, 10:17 AM   #6
Rich
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Derry / Gilford
Posts: 997
Thanks: 25
Thanked 230 Times in 161 Posts
Default

Maybe some routing on the internet got cleaned up?

You can always do this on windows in your command window:

tracert winnipesaukee.com

Or use an online tool such as: http://www.monitis.com/traceroute/

And see if there is a slow route somewhere.

If you become familiar with the normal routing (and timing) you can know when something is out of whack or has changed.

Or you can also use online pageload speed measuring tools:
http://www.monitis.com/pageload/

have fun!
__________________
Rich
Don't listen to me, obviously I don't understand what I'm talking about!
Let's help each other save time and money: WinniGas.com
Rich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2015, 10:25 AM   #7
Rich
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Derry / Gilford
Posts: 997
Thanks: 25
Thanked 230 Times in 161 Posts
Default

Oh wait, I think those montis visual routes are from their server, not your home.

Best thing to use is the command line: tracert command. This way you are ensured to measure the path from your PC to the server you are interested in.
__________________
Rich
Don't listen to me, obviously I don't understand what I'm talking about!
Let's help each other save time and money: WinniGas.com
Rich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2015, 10:41 AM   #8
webmaster
Moderator
 
webmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 1,977
Thanks: 253
Thanked 2,386 Times in 543 Posts
Default

Nothing has changed on the server. The performance has been excellent since I moved the site to a dedicated VPS a few years ago.

One easy way to see if my server is slowed down is to look at the page generation time at the bottom of most pages. The server normally generates a page in well under a second. If that number is much higher the slow performance may be caused by the server. If that number is low the slowdown is likely somewhere between the server and your computer.
webmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2015, 01:43 PM   #9
SIKSUKR
Senior Member
 
SIKSUKR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 5,014
Thanks: 214
Thanked 887 Times in 500 Posts
Default

Thanks Don. I checked here and found that Comcast was supposed to do some work this fall on our feed which runs through several mill buildings. We have had speed issues in the past. Apparently this may have taken care of recently. I just did a speed test and am getting about 50 mpbs. I dont remember what I had the last time I checked but I'm guessing half that.
__________________
SIKSUKR
SIKSUKR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

This page was generated in 0.12563 seconds