Go Back   Winnipesaukee Forum > Winnipesaukee Forums > Diving Winnipesaukee
Home Forums Gallery Webcams Blogs YouTube Channel Classifieds Calendar Register FAQDonate Members List Today's Posts

Old 05-13-2010, 10:13 PM   #1
Diver1111

Thanked 1,027 Times in 224 Posts
Default More Paugus finds

I decided this morning to dive and check out an object-of interest I found on side-scan a few weeks ago in Paugus that I caught on side-scan-sonar/SSS but had no time to confirm at that time; Left work and just went.

What had my interest that prompted my trip today was what appeared to be one huge log (I est. it at perhaps 45 feet) but I as I studied it beforehand I wondered-how could a log cast such a big-and triangular-sonar shadow?? Plus the white “up-rights” to the right of the image-what were those? Answer: Even after diving the object-don’t know what the white vertical images are.

I navigated to the target-of-interest/TOI and dropped anchor; Due to the wind my anchor dragged about 25 feet before catching-no problem as I had a good feel for where to head once on the bottom with my scooter to connect with it.

When I hit the bottom I landed on…the wreck of a barge, not mud as expected (this is called a “good start”); I knew when I hit it it was not what I was looking for-nice, though; I measured this barge-wreck by hand at 25 feet long-images attached; Short, square…a barge I never knew about. Maybe other folks do but not me.

So I then headed towards the primary TOI and came across a 78 foot vessel-so much for the log theory. Looked like it had been split in half down the middle with a saw, at least the stern was-just spliced in two pieces, flip-flopped left and right.

Gunwhales at the bow were about six feet off the mud. No names on the vessel that I could find anywhere but it appeared she was painted white.

A large metal pipe lay across her bow to the east-perhaps 20 feet long continuing into the mud; Don’t know what it was but it was about 4” in diameter.