Go Back   Winnipesaukee Forum > Winnipesaukee Forums > Boating
Home Forums Gallery Webcams Blogs YouTube Channel Classifieds Calendar Register FAQDonate Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 05-03-2004, 10:16 AM   #1
samcracker

Exclamation Boat lessons

Hello,
I'm relatively new to boating (having just bought my first boat) and wonder if anyone has some advice on getting more training than the one hour you get with the marina after taking delivery. I really don't know anyone close by that I could trust to give me a full blown "everything I need to know about boating" crash course. I took a safety course but the broad brush they give you really isn't enough.
Sam
samcracker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2004, 11:13 AM   #2
Cruiser

The Marine Patrol and the Lakes Region Sail and Power Squadron offer the safe boating course. The Power Squadron offers additional courses(seamanship, piloting, engine maintenance,etc) for its members.There are also commercial instructors like www.jpboating.com that offer individualized inwater classes.
Cruiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2004, 12:09 PM   #3
jrc

Quote:
Originally Posted by samcracker
... getting more training than the one hour you get with the marina after taking delivery...
You get a "free" one hour try-out of probably an experienced captain. If they're any good, try to hire them by the hour for more training. If they don't do this they probably know someone who does.

Learn the rules, learn to be safe, but nothing beats on the water hands on training.
jrc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2004, 12:57 PM   #4
fpartri497

Angry New Boat

Quote:
Originally Posted by samcracker
Hello,