Go Back   Winnipesaukee Forum > Winnipesaukee Forums > Area WebCAMs
Home Forums Gallery YouTube Channel Classifieds Links Calendar Register FAQDonate Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-25-2013, 11:03 AM   #1
Oletimer
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 89
Thanks: 15
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default winnisquam marine web cam

Anyone having problems getting on to this web cam? I have not been able to view it for several days now.

It says on cam web site you need active x to view and it is supposed to be at the top of page to download I think but it's not there!

I use Firefox V21 and sometimes IE8 and used to view that cam even without active x I think!

Any help certainly appreciated.
Oletimer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2013, 11:43 AM   #2
dave603
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Nashua/Winnisquam
Posts: 279
Thanks: 101
Thanked 96 Times in 49 Posts
Default Webcam

It's been down for over a week, don't bother trying the download if you have run it before.
dave603 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2013, 03:11 PM   #3
dave603
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Nashua/Winnisquam
Posts: 279
Thanks: 101
Thanked 96 Times in 49 Posts
Default

Back online finally.
dave603 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to dave603 For This Useful Post:
trfour (07-24-2013)
Old 01-11-2014, 10:01 AM   #4
moose tracks
Senior Member
 
moose tracks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wappingers Falls, NY / Sanbornton, NH
Posts: 270
Thanks: 293
Thanked 38 Times in 30 Posts
Unhappy Winnisquam Marine Web Cam

Is anyone having problems getting on to the Winnisquam Marine web cam?
It says to view the streaming video web cam picture you will have to download a small Active-X applet. This Active-X applet is not coming up. Any suggestions?
__________________
Moose Tracks
moose tracks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2014, 12:43 PM   #5
mcdude
Senior Member
 
mcdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Rock Haven Lake - West Newfield, ME
Posts: 5,074
Thanks: 308
Thanked 717 Times in 345 Posts
Default

............
http://www.winnisquammarine.com/webcam.htm
__________________

mcdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 01-11-2014, 12:59 PM   #6
RLW
Senior Member
 
RLW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Alton Bay on the mountain by a lake
Posts: 2,019
Thanks: 553
Thanked 410 Times in 309 Posts
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by mcdude View Post
No go for this ole geezer and waited for the link to Active-X applet to appear.
__________________
There is nothing better than living on Alton Mountain & our grand kids visits.
RLW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2014, 01:45 PM   #7
Merrymeeting
Senior Member
 
Merrymeeting's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Merrymeeting Lake, New Durham
Posts: 1,982
Thanks: 237
Thanked 682 Times in 298 Posts
Default

Working fine for me
Merrymeeting is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2014, 04:06 PM   #8
Rusty
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 2,023
Thanks: 602
Thanked 684 Times in 423 Posts
Default

Works fine for me. Christmas lights on the boats...neat!
Attached Images
 
__________________
It's never crowded along the extra mile.
Rusty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2014, 08:57 AM   #9
BroadHopper
Senior Member
 
BroadHopper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Laconia NH / Bozeman MO
Posts: 4,729
Thanks: 2,251
Thanked 820 Times in 571 Posts
Default Active X applet

Doesn't work for me. I waited and waited for the applet to download. Nothing. Any ideas? Is it because I am on Windows 8.1?
__________________
Someday may never be an actual day.
BroadHopper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2014, 10:13 AM   #10
Merrymeeting
Senior Member
 
Merrymeeting's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Merrymeeting Lake, New Durham
Posts: 1,982
Thanks: 237
Thanked 682 Times in 298 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BroadHopper View Post
Doesn't work for me. I waited and waited for the applet to download. Nothing. Any ideas? Is it because I am on Windows 8.1?
I can't offer much help with your issue BroadHopper, but I can help eliminate parameters. I'm on 8.1. That's not the issue.

Can you view any other webcams that are Axis based?
Merrymeeting is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2014, 10:32 AM   #11
upthesaukee
Senior Member
 
upthesaukee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Alton Bay
Posts: 4,678
Thanks: 1,392
Thanked 1,419 Times in 768 Posts
Default I have Win 7. but...

Quote:
Originally Posted by BroadHopper View Post
Doesn't work for me. I waited and waited for the applet to download. Nothing. Any ideas? Is it because I am on Windows 8.1?
I have had to help my sister in law with her Win 8 laptop. Downloading one particular application, I kept waiting for the info to appear at the top like the link page said it would. After waiting and waiting for the bar to appear, I closed the window and tried again. On the second try, it came up, and probably had the first time, as a short bar, maybe and inch or so long, at the lower left corner of the screen. Barely noticeable. Clicked on it and I was off and running, not without a slightly red face for missing the link the first time.

With my Win 7, Winnisquam cam site said the box would appear at the top. Didn't appear at the top, it appeared as a longer box at the bottom of the screen. Took about a minute to download the bar. Once I clicked, it took about 30 secs or so for the box to come up that asks for permission to make a change to the computer, and then about an equal amount of time for the cam to become active.

From my own perspective, sometimes embarrassingly so, I miss something that is supposed to be on the screen and unfortunately shows up where I least expect it. And sometimes it opens in a new window that is not visible, but is hidden by the first window.

BH sorry it is not working for you. Your problem may be caused by security settings in your browser. You could try using Google Chrome or Firefox as an alternative if you are using IE. Also, my wife had problems getting into a portal with her work with IE11, but when we tried Chrome, no problem. Might be worth a try.
__________________
I Live Here... I am always UPTHESAUKEE !!!!
upthesaukee is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to upthesaukee For This Useful Post:
BroadHopper (01-13-2014), moose tracks (01-12-2014)
Old 01-12-2014, 01:14 PM   #12
moose tracks
Senior Member
 
moose tracks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wappingers Falls, NY / Sanbornton, NH
Posts: 270
Thanks: 293
Thanked 38 Times in 30 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by upthesaukee View Post
BH sorry it is not working for you. Your problem may be caused by security settings in your browser. You could try using Google Chrome or Firefox as an alternative if you are using IE. Also, my wife had problems getting into a portal with her work with IE11, but when we tried Chrome, no problem. Might be worth a try.
I used the tip from Upthesaukee and changed my web browser from Internet Explorer to Google Chrome and was able to view the web cam. Thanks everyone,
__________________
Moose Tracks
moose tracks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2014, 05:34 PM   #13
RLW
Senior Member
 
RLW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Alton Bay on the mountain by a lake
Posts: 2,019
Thanks: 553
Thanked 410 Times in 309 Posts
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by moose tracks View Post
I used the tip from Upthesaukee and changed my web browser from Internet Explorer to Google Chrome and was able to view the web cam. Thanks everyone,
But we really shouldn't have to do that if everything is set right should we?


__________________
There is nothing better than living on Alton Mountain & our grand kids visits.
RLW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2014, 08:11 PM   #14
moose tracks
Senior Member
 
moose tracks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wappingers Falls, NY / Sanbornton, NH
Posts: 270
Thanks: 293
Thanked 38 Times in 30 Posts
Default

[QUOTE=RLW;217576]But we really shouldn't have to do that if everything is set right should we?

You are right RLW but I don't know how to set up my Internet Explorer browser to view the web cam. I tried different security settings and options but had no success.
__________________
Moose Tracks
moose tracks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2014, 08:15 PM   #15
upthesaukee
Senior Member
 
upthesaukee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Alton Bay
Posts: 4,678
Thanks: 1,392
Thanked 1,419 Times in 768 Posts
Default I believe it has more to do with IE11 than our settings.

[QUOTE=moose tracks;217585]
Quote:
Originally Posted by RLW View Post
But we really shouldn't have to do that if everything is set right should we?

You are right RLW but I don't know how to set up my Internet Explorer browser to view the web cam. I tried different security settings and options but had no success.

At least that is what the IT people said at my wife's work. They had problems with people coming into the network through the portal, and there was also at least one other thing that happen, can't remember what, but it was on a laptop used out and away from the mainframe network, and they had to uninstall IE11 and put IE10 back in.

New is not always good, especially with Microsoft.
__________________
I Live Here... I am always UPTHESAUKEE !!!!
upthesaukee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2014, 06:02 AM   #16
brk-lnt
Senior Member
 
brk-lnt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: South Down Shores
Posts: 1,755
Thanks: 442
Thanked 496 Times in 280 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by upthesaukee View Post
New is not always good, especially with Microsoft.
Correct. Also, not all browsers support the same HTML features, some of them implement things slightly differently, and so forth.

A basic webpage should look and work the same in any standard browser, but as you start to get to more complex things (HTML5, video, audio, etc.) there is a higher chance that particular browsers have issues.

I've never been a big fan of IE, it's gotten a lot better over the years, but it's always been my last choice.
__________________
[insert witty phrase here]
brk-lnt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2014, 07:00 AM   #17
jrc
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Hollis/Gilford
Posts: 2,688
Thanks: 33
Thanked 437 Times in 247 Posts
Default

I have Win 8.1 and IE11 and now I can see the web cam.

You have to click on the little gear in the upper right, go down to compatibility view settings, then add the site. Then usually you have to reload the page. Now IE will load the do-dad needed.

If that doesn't work, make sure you don't have activeX filtering turned on.

I'm pretty tired of IE11 and it's paranoid security.
jrc is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jrc For This Useful Post:
moose tracks (01-13-2014)
Old 01-13-2014, 07:52 AM   #18
Merrymeeting
Senior Member
 
Merrymeeting's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Merrymeeting Lake, New Durham
Posts: 1,982
Thanks: 237
Thanked 682 Times in 298 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jrc View Post
I'm pretty tired of IE11 and it's paranoid security.
And that is the crux of the issue. Most people complain about the security layers until there is a breech or virus invasion. Then MS will be dumped on for the lack of security.
Merrymeeting is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Merrymeeting For This Useful Post:
BroadHopper (01-13-2014)
Old 01-13-2014, 05:38 PM   #19
Rusty
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 2,023
Thanks: 602
Thanked 684 Times in 423 Posts
Default

Looks like when they have the lights on in the office there is a reflection from the window glass.
Attached Images
 
__________________
It's never crowded along the extra mile.
Rusty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2014, 08:17 PM   #20
moose tracks
Senior Member
 
moose tracks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wappingers Falls, NY / Sanbornton, NH
Posts: 270
Thanks: 293
Thanked 38 Times in 30 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jrc View Post
You have to click on the little gear in the upper right, go down to compatibility view settings, then add the site. Then usually you have to reload the page. Now IE will load the do-dad needed.
Thanks jrc - that worked. I can now view the web cam. I like this web cam because our camp is about 5 miles from the marina and when we are in the flatlands we can check out the conditions up north.
__________________
Moose Tracks
moose tracks is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

This page was generated in 0.35478 seconds