Go Back   Winnipesaukee Forum > Winnipesaukee Forums > General Discussion
Home Forums Gallery Blogs YouTube Channel Classifieds Links Calendar Register FAQDonate Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-01-2015, 06:30 AM   #1
pjard
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Gilford, NH
Posts: 573
Thanks: 351
Thanked 168 Times in 88 Posts
Default Metrocast (Gilford area)

Last night I lost all internet to the house. This is NOT an uncommon event with Metrocast. However, this morning I was pleasantly surprised to see not only that it's back up and running but it seems to be faster than ever. Anyone else seeing this?
pjard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2015, 06:36 AM   #2
smith point boater
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: West Alton,NH
Posts: 127
Thanks: 187
Thanked 48 Times in 23 Posts
Default Internet

Yes. Came back on line about 10pm last nite
smith point boater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2015, 07:17 AM   #3
PaugusBayFireFighter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 837
Thanks: 361
Thanked 672 Times in 264 Posts
Default

Same here in Laconia...fixed now.
PaugusBayFireFighter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2015, 11:40 AM   #4
That Guy
Senior Member
 
That Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 182
Thanks: 37
Thanked 74 Times in 43 Posts
Default

Oh FFS. I dubbed around with the router and modem for an hour last night. Fed up, I went to bed.

I feel much better now knowing it wasn't just me.
That Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2015, 01:45 PM   #5
PaugusBayFireFighter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 837
Thanks: 361
Thanked 672 Times in 264 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by That Guy View Post
Oh FFS. I dubbed around with the router and modem for an hour last night. Fed up, I went to bed.

I feel much better now knowing it wasn't just me.
I too restarted my router several times. Argued with family about how long I had to keep it unplugged to successfully restart. I waited a minute, that's long enough. They swore it was 10 minutes...lol. I told them unplug it for 8 hours, I'm going to bed! My wife kept saying "just call them and tell them you're internet isn't working". I said, "that's' like asking for directions when I'm lost...no way"
PaugusBayFireFighter is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to PaugusBayFireFighter For This Useful Post:
pjard (07-01-2015), wynndog (07-01-2015)
Sponsored Links
Old 07-01-2015, 07:18 PM   #6
pjard
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Gilford, NH
Posts: 573
Thanks: 351
Thanked 168 Times in 88 Posts
Default

So I want to go back to my question, are you all seeing an improvement in speed?
pjard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2015, 07:25 PM   #7
wynndog
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Alton
Posts: 98
Thanks: 170
Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts
Default Metrocast

AH..... And you thought the Metrocast truck parked on your road for 2 days was
..................................the NSA
wynndog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2015, 07:27 PM   #8
That Guy
Senior Member
 
That Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 182
Thanks: 37
Thanked 74 Times in 43 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wynndog View Post
AH..... And you thought the Metrocast truck parked on your road for 2 days was
..................................the NSA
Funny story: My WiFi is named "NSA Surveillance Van".
That Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2015, 07:31 PM   #9
brk-lnt
Senior Member
 
brk-lnt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: South Down Shores
Posts: 1,817
Thanks: 487
Thanked 526 Times in 301 Posts
Default

I just tested my Metrocast connection.

Download was OK at 21.6Mbps. Upload was pretty horrible at 2.8Mbps.
__________________
[insert witty phrase here]
brk-lnt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2015, 08:16 PM   #10
pjard
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Gilford, NH
Posts: 573
Thanks: 351
Thanked 168 Times in 88 Posts
Default

Yeah my test rates are the same as always but it just seems a lot faster. Maybe I need a another cocktail...that might slow it down. Also, PBFF's post made me laugh as my house erupted into several different arguments as well. My goodness, look how dependent we've become to this crazy internet. I think this web thing is here to stay....LOL!
pjard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2015, 09:16 PM   #11
Rusty
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 2,028
Thanks: 603
Thanked 686 Times in 424 Posts
Default

It is still happening this evening with intermittent disconnects. If Metrocast is making changes than why don't they tell us??
Channel 74 (ID) went off tonight and this probably relates to what they are/might be doing.
My speed hasn't changed, it is still @21 Mbps download. Upload has never been good.
__________________
It's never crowded along the extra mile.
Rusty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2015, 10:40 PM   #12
Merrymeeting
Senior Member
 
Merrymeeting's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Merrymeeting Lake, New Durham
Posts: 2,005
Thanks: 245
Thanked 688 Times in 301 Posts
Default

Because of work requirements, I have the ultra package. Tonight I am getting 72 mbps up and 8 mbps down. This is consistent with what I usually see.
Merrymeeting is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2015, 11:29 PM   #13
Woodsy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Weirs Beach
Posts: 1,617
Thanks: 52
Thanked 712 Times in 292 Posts
Default

Rusty...

Metrocast "throttles' your internet speed to what you pay for... I pay for the 20MB/sec download speed... I see 21mb/sec on the speed tests. The upload is 1.5mb/sec at best. I think that's what that package allows for.

I am so NOT a Metrocast fan!

Woodsy
__________________
The only way to eliminate ignorant behavior is through education. You can't fix stupid.
Woodsy is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Woodsy For This Useful Post:
Rusty (07-02-2015)
Old 07-02-2015, 10:13 AM   #14
kawishiwi
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 481
Thanks: 193
Thanked 127 Times in 86 Posts
Default AT&T wireless - Tilton

Havent tested at the lake but I just tested 30.13 Mbps down, 9.5 up on my phone in Tilton. I switched from Comcast cable to Verizon wireless in Nashua 8 years ago and loved it. It WAS more expensive, $60 vs $35, but it was night and day speed & reliability improvement. And of course you pay for overages. I jumped to AT&T a year ago after Verizon DOWNGRADED service in my neighborhood. I now have 4g back and my data limit is now 30 gig vs 10 gig. Hey Verizon, can you hear ME now?
kawishiwi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2015, 08:38 PM   #15
bclaker
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Laconia
Posts: 479
Thanks: 545
Thanked 145 Times in 66 Posts
Default Metrocast

:Tonight I checked the TV listings and couldn't find anything that really interested me, but found 7 Channels, all with the program "THINK IT UP".
bclaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

This page was generated in 0.09384 seconds