Go Back   Winnipesaukee Forum > Support Forum > Site Support Forum
Home Forums Gallery Blogs YouTube Channel Classifieds Links Calendar Register FAQDonate Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-23-2015, 09:51 PM   #1
bclaker
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Laconia
Posts: 479
Thanks: 545
Thanked 145 Times in 66 Posts
Default Computer Technician

Does anyone know of a Computer Technician who does home visits in the Laconia area that they would recommend?
bclaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2015, 12:52 PM   #2
MAXUM
Senior Member
 
MAXUM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Hooksett, NH & Bear Island, NH
Posts: 2,148
Thanks: 191
Thanked 1,374 Times in 554 Posts
Default

what do you need done/fixed?
MAXUM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2015, 01:01 PM   #3
ishoot308
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Gilford, NH / Welch Island
Posts: 4,314
Thanks: 1,532
Thanked 3,109 Times in 1,200 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bclaker View Post
Does anyone know of a Computer Technician who does home visits in the Laconia area that they would recommend?
Good question, I could use one too!
__________________
It's Always Sunny On Welch Island!!
ishoot308 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2015, 01:08 PM   #4
bclaker
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Laconia
Posts: 479
Thanks: 545
Thanked 145 Times in 66 Posts
Default

I believe it is just a software problem. It usually takes forever to get windows explorer to find a web site. It keeps telling me window explorer is not responding. Sometimes Mindspark is not responding. I have tried deleting cookies, etc and that doesn't work. Thankfully this IPad works fine, but I need the computer to do my income tax return.
bclaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2015, 01:20 PM   #5
upthesaukee
Senior Member
 
upthesaukee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Alton Bay
Posts: 4,754
Blog Entries: 2
Thanks: 1,454
Thanked 1,453 Times in 792 Posts
Default Download Malwarebytes, if you do not already have it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bclaker View Post
I believe it is just a software problem. It usually takes forever to get windows explorer to find a web site. It keeps telling me window explorer is not responding. Sometimes Mindspark is not responding. I have tried deleting cookies, etc and that doesn't work. Thankfully this IPad works fine, but I need the computer to do my income tax return.
Download and run Malwarebytes from malwarebytes.com . It is a free download, and I run mine every three or four weeks. When you go to run a scan, it will ask if you want to update the software, and the answer is yes.

I too am having some problems with Explorer not responding. I do find that using Chrome or Mozilla eases, but does not eliminate, the problem. I seem to get a lot of "long running scripts", causing the Explorer not to respond.

Also, look down in your "tray" where the clock is, and see how many programs you have running. I had about 6 programs that were running at startup that didn't need to be running until I needed them. Those programs I just went into the properties or options and unchecked the automatically start on a restart or booting of the computer. For instance, I have a Sky Caddy Gps for golf, and the updater software when it installed set itself up to start on boot up of the computer. I may only use the computer software once a month or so. No need to have it run and use up resources.

Hope this may help a little.

Good luck.
__________________
I Live Here... I am always UPTHESAUKEE !!!!
upthesaukee is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 03-24-2015, 04:43 PM   #6
BroadHopper
Senior Member
 
BroadHopper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Laconia NH / Bozeman MO
Posts: 4,815
Thanks: 2,327
Thanked 849 Times in 591 Posts
Default Computer tech

I will be happy to look at for you. I've been around desktop since the IBM / Rainbow PC days. I was even the IT expert for a billion dollar sales company long before they call it IT!
__________________
Someday may never be an actual day.
BroadHopper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2015, 05:34 PM   #7
bclaker
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Laconia
Posts: 479
Thanks: 545
Thanked 145 Times in 66 Posts
Default

I spent all afternoon trying to get my computer working and finally did. I tried malware bytes. I got the web site, but couldn't download it. I then went to the control panel and tried all the things that I thought might apply. I finally changed it back to the Vista classic view and it is like brand new speed wise, except Internet Explorer gave me a blank page, however Google and Firefox worked fine. I think all those updates on the newer versions of Internet Explorer messed it up. If I was to get a new Internet Explorer, The automatic updates would probably mess it up again, so I'll just use Firefox or Google. Thanks guys for your help.

Bob
bclaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2015, 05:57 PM   #8
Rusty
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 2,028
Thanks: 603
Thanked 686 Times in 424 Posts
Default

Have you ever tried a System Restore?
It helps you restore your computer's system files to an earlier point in time. It's a way to undo system changes to your computer without affecting your personal files, such as e‑mail, documents, or photos.

Here are the instructions for windows 7...if you have a different operating system, do a search for the one you have: System Restore
__________________
It's never crowded along the extra mile.
Rusty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2015, 06:47 PM   #9
JasonG
Senior Member
 
JasonG's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 310
Thanks: 48
Thanked 45 Times in 33 Posts
Default

Back up everything, wipe the hard drive, fresh install. Best way to recover speed.

Also, if you have an older PC, newer browsers may bog down the CPU/Hard Drive and make everything slower. Just like that update to your Apple iPhone...all of the sudden it gets slower to use making you think it is time to upgrade.
JasonG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2015, 09:59 PM   #10
bclaker
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Laconia
Posts: 479
Thanks: 545
Thanked 145 Times in 66 Posts
Default

Thanks for the additional info Jason and Rusty, but it seems to be running fine now. I tried to restore, in the past, but it didn't take me back far enough to avoid where the trouble started.
bclaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2015, 07:44 AM   #11
tis
Senior Member
 
tis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 4,674
Thanks: 463
Thanked 826 Times in 575 Posts
Default

Speaking of computers, I just had my Safari updated on my Mac and every time I go into an email or forum, I have to click to sign in. Before I could just stay signed in. Even if I check the box to stay signed in, I am not signed in when I close out Safari and go back in. Anybody suggestions?
tis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2015, 08:41 AM   #12
upthesaukee
Senior Member
 
upthesaukee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Alton Bay
Posts: 4,754
Blog Entries: 2
Thanks: 1,454
Thanked 1,453 Times in 792 Posts
Default Well duh!!!!

Don't close it out, Tis!!!!

(Sorry, can't really help with the problem, but I couldn't help myself.)
__________________
I Live Here... I am always UPTHESAUKEE !!!!
upthesaukee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2015, 12:31 PM   #13
tis
Senior Member
 
tis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 4,674
Thanks: 463
Thanked 826 Times in 575 Posts
Default

You are a riot, up!!!! I don't close them out and I check the little boxes to keep me signed in. Like I never used to sign out of this forum so I could just come right in. I check the little box to keep me signed in. Maybe it is something with the new Safari, it won't let you stay. Will have to try a search.
tis is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to tis For This Useful Post:
upthesaukee (03-25-2015)
Old 03-25-2015, 01:45 PM   #14
trfour
Senior Member
 
trfour's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Lakes, Central NH. and Dallas/Fort Worth TX.
Posts: 3,483
Blog Entries: 3
Thanks: 2,573
Thanked 425 Times in 204 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tis View Post
You are a riot, up!!!! I don't close them out and I check the little boxes to keep me signed in. Like I never used to sign out of this forum so I could just come right in. I check the little box to keep me signed in. Maybe it is something with the new Safari, it won't let you stay. Will have to try a search.
tis, I've heard that it is easier to get hacked if you stay logged on or logged in to a website. You may find more help here; http://www.bing.com/search?q=Never%2...871a444a2e8d7a



Terry
___________________________________________
__________________
trfour

Always Remember, The Best Safety Device In The Boat, or on a PWC Snowmobile etc., Is YOU!

Safe sledding tips and much more; http://www.snowmobile.org/snowmobiling-safety.html
trfour is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2015, 02:49 PM   #15
webmaster
Moderator
 
webmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 2,172
Blog Entries: 1
Thanks: 321
Thanked 2,745 Times in 647 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tis View Post
Speaking of computers, I just had my Safari updated on my Mac and every time I go into an email or forum, I have to click to sign in. Before I could just stay signed in. Even if I check the box to stay signed in, I am not signed in when I close out Safari and go back in. Anybody suggestions?
This site uses a "cookie" to remember your login. Sometimes the cookie gets corrupted in some way and won't do its job. It's happened to me.

If you delete the cookie and let the site re-create it it will again work normally after you log in once. Different browsers have different ways to manage cookies. Just Google "Firefox delete cookies" (for example) for directions for your browser. Then delete the winnipesaukee.com cookie.

If you have security software that blocks cookies it's a different story but it sounds like tis just may need a fresh cookie (chocolate chip?).
webmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2015, 02:53 PM   #16
SIKSUKR
Senior Member
 
SIKSUKR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 5,073
Thanks: 215
Thanked 895 Times in 506 Posts
Default

Maybe I'm a little paranoid but I would never stayed logged in to a site when not using it. Anytime I use online banking I go 1 step further and actually close and reopen the browser.
__________________
SIKSUKR
SIKSUKR is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to SIKSUKR For This Useful Post:
trfour (03-26-2015)
Old 03-25-2015, 02:56 PM   #17
BroadHopper
Senior Member
 
BroadHopper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Laconia NH / Bozeman MO
Posts: 4,815
Thanks: 2,327
Thanked 849 Times in 591 Posts
Default

And I thought I was paranoid!
__________________
Someday may never be an actual day.
BroadHopper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2015, 03:14 PM   #18
Rusty
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 2,028
Thanks: 603
Thanked 686 Times in 424 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tis View Post
Speaking of computers, I just had my Safari updated on my Mac and every time I go into an email or forum, I have to click to sign in. Before I could just stay signed in. Even if I check the box to stay signed in, I am not signed in when I close out Safari and go back in. Anybody suggestions?
While in Safari, go to the "Safari" menu in the upper left hand corner of the screen, click on it, and then click on "Preferences".
From there, click on the "Autofill tab, and make sure "User names and passwords" is checked.
__________________
It's never crowded along the extra mile.
Rusty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2015, 03:21 PM   #19
tis
Senior Member
 
tis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 4,674
Thanks: 463
Thanked 826 Times in 575 Posts
Default

Those are all checked, Rusty. Webmaster, I did that, I will see if it works. I just made some chocolate chips and am trying not to eat them!!! I bought "Webroot" Security for the first time too and maybe that is it. Thanks for the help.
tis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2015, 07:08 PM   #20
bclaker
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Laconia
Posts: 479
Thanks: 545
Thanked 145 Times in 66 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BroadHopper View Post
I will be happy to look at for you. I've been around desktop since the IBM / Rainbow PC days. I was even the IT expert for a billion dollar sales company long before they call it IT!
Thanks for the offer BroadHopper. I really appreciate it, but at this point I'm all squared away.
bclaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

This page was generated in 0.29834 seconds