Go Back   Winnipesaukee Forum > Winnipesaukee Forums > General Discussion
Home Forums Gallery Webcams Blogs YouTube Channel Classifieds Calendar Register FAQDonate Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 04-28-2018, 07:38 AM   #1
Senter Cove Guy

Default What Were Your Summer Jobs At The Lake

Whether you were a Lake Winnipesaukee area native or a visiting flatlander, most teenagers got jobs around the lake every summer. I’m glad to say that I was one of them.

I had many different jobs at the lake during my teenage and early 20’s years.

I’m going to anecdotally describe what I did and then I hope others will perhaps do the same. It will be interesting to see what made our summers go round and round during those formative years.

1958 - I worked as a Busboy at Bald Peak Colony Club. I applied for and received my Social Security Number. We worked breakfast, lunch and dinner. We started at 7am and worked until about 1pm. Had the afternoons off until about 5pm when the dinner service began. We were allowed to eat dinner there before work but you had to show up early. Saturday nights were special as the chef always carved an ice statue from a block of ice harvested from the lake the previous winter. The ice statue was displayed in the dining room on the buffet dessert table. As I recall, I think I made about 50 cents per hour.