Go Back   Winnipesaukee Forum > Winnipesaukee Forums > General Discussion
Home Forums Gallery Blogs YouTube Channel Classifieds Links Calendar Register FAQDonate Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-31-2021, 04:11 PM   #1
bigdog
Senior Member
 
bigdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Central MA-Gilford
Posts: 1,208
Thanks: 208
Thanked 89 Times in 73 Posts
Default Pellet Stove Question ?

I have a Quadra-Fire Mt Vernon OE (Original Edition), I am the second owner.
I just installed a new Control box, and started the stove, which started right up!

Stove whet through normal cycling, and after about 10 min of operation the 'combustion blower' is suppose to kick on ! The combustion blower is the blower which pushes the warm air into the room.

Well, at the time the blower was to kick-in, we heard a loud 'pop', then the stove shut down, like I flipped a switch !

After trouble-shooting, I found an in-line fuse circuit breaker on the back of the stove that appears to be the culprit. The fuse holder contains a 5 Amp AGC glass fuse, but what I noticed and dumb-founded, was when I pulled apart the fuse holder, I found that the fuse was wrapped with aluminum foil ? WT* ?
Anyway, I discarded the aluminum foil around the fuse and checked the fuse element, which was totally destroyed !

Why would anyone in their right mind, wrap any fuse in aluminum foil, for what purpose ? That seems like a dangerous thing to do, which could potentially cause short-circuit, and maybe a fire !

Anyway, I have a new fuse to replace, and will install w/o the aluminum foil.
Will report back with results.

Thanks for your feedback, much appreciated !!!!
bigdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2021, 05:58 PM   #2
Jersey Bob
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 69
Thanks: 61
Thanked 17 Times in 11 Posts
Default

Ahh, the old 500 amp no blow fuse!
Good luck with the stove and be safe.
Jersey Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2021, 06:24 PM   #3
WinnisquamZ
Senior Member
 
WinnisquamZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 1,204
Thanks: 142
Thanked 421 Times in 275 Posts
Default

My dad would place a penny under the fuse then screw it back in. Never understood, until I understood


Sent from my iPhone using Winnipesaukee Forum mobile app
WinnisquamZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2021, 06:57 PM   #4
CowTimes
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 131
Thanks: 8
Thanked 122 Times in 64 Posts
Default

I have the same pellet stove. Why did you end up needing to replace the control box? Curious about issues to be aware of down the road. Thanks in advance.
CowTimes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2021, 07:40 PM   #5
Sundancer320
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 87
Thanks: 7
Thanked 34 Times in 17 Posts
Default

Had one of those a few years back...good stove. If I remember the box, it was wrapped in a heat shield that kinda looked like aluminum foil..
Sundancer320 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 05-31-2021, 07:51 PM   #6
bigdog
Senior Member
 
bigdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Central MA-Gilford
Posts: 1,208
Thanks: 208
Thanked 89 Times in 73 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CowTimes View Post
I have the same pellet stove. Why did you end up needing to replace the control box? Curious about issues to be aware of down the road. Thanks in advance.
The stove stopped dropping pellets into the stove, I had a stove dealer trouble-shoot the stove and their diagnosed it was the control box. They eliminated the 'snap discs' on the stove as the issue. Bought the new control board, installed,
and all started working great, including the pellet feed.
bigdog is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to bigdog For This Useful Post:
CowTimes (05-31-2021)
Old 06-01-2021, 09:58 AM   #7
Patofnaud
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Tilton/Paugus Bay
Posts: 207
Thanks: 12
Thanked 54 Times in 38 Posts
Default

If you are blowing the fuse when the circulation blower should kick in, then that blower is most likely bad.

A lot of times when they (blowers) go bad they start drawing more current, so the previous owner probably did the tin foil wrap to circumvent blowing the fuse. Lucky you did not have a fire in the wiring.

I'd put in the right fuse, disconnect the blower and see if it will get past the point where the fuse blew. You could even patch a light bulb in where the blower 'should have' been to see if the process of the blower coming on now works without popping the fuse. If the fuse still pops then you have a short in the wiring (worn insulation to chassis) between the fuse and the blower.
Patofnaud is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

This page was generated in 0.21669 seconds