Go Back   Winnipesaukee Forum > Winnipesaukee Forums > Home, Cottage or Land Maintenance
Home Forums Gallery YouTube Channel Classifieds Links Calendar Register FAQDonate Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-17-2018, 05:00 PM   #1
thinkxingu
Senior Member
 
thinkxingu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 2,111
Thanks: 584
Thanked 573 Times in 336 Posts
Default Old DeWalt Radial Arm Saw Help

Greetings, friends! I've got an old DeWalt radial arm saw that isn't totally functional. Is there anyone here who might know how to remedy the problem?

Sent from my Moto G (5S) Plus using Tapatalk
thinkxingu is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2018, 05:03 PM   #2
Hillcountry
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: In the hills
Posts: 1,369
Thanks: 688
Thanked 280 Times in 186 Posts
Default

You should say what the problem is...not that I would know how to fix but someone might...
Hillcountry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2018, 05:12 PM   #3
thinkxingu
Senior Member
 
thinkxingu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 2,111
Thanks: 584
Thanked 573 Times in 336 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hillcountry View Post
You should say what the problem is...not that I would know how to fix but someone might...
I was gonna, but figured I'd connect directly with someone if so. In any case, it turns slowly. For a while, if it was slow and I tapped the side of the motor it would work again, but not anymore.

Sent from my Moto G (5S) Plus using Tapatalk
thinkxingu is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2018, 05:16 PM   #4
Rusty
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 2,028
Thanks: 603
Thanked 684 Times in 423 Posts
Default

It could be that you need new brushes for the motor. It's worth a try because brushes are inexpensive and easy to replace.
__________________
It's never crowded along the extra mile.
Rusty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2018, 05:52 PM   #5
brk-lnt
Senior Member
 
brk-lnt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: South Down Shores
Posts: 1,763
Thanks: 453
Thanked 497 Times in 281 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rusty View Post
It could be that you need new brushes for the motor. It's worth a try because brushes are inexpensive and easy to replace.
That was going to be my suggestion as well. But still, posting a model number would be helpful.
__________________
[insert witty phrase here]
brk-lnt is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 07-17-2018, 05:52 PM   #6
ishoot308
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Gilford, NH / Welch Island
Posts: 4,104
Thanks: 1,427
Thanked 2,886 Times in 1,097 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rusty View Post
It could be that you need new brushes for the motor. It's worth a try because brushes are inexpensive and easy to replace.
That would be my guess as well...

Dan
__________________
It's Always Sunny On Welch Island!!
ishoot308 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2018, 05:53 PM   #7
DBreskin
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Southern NJ and Wolfeboro NH
Posts: 184
Thanks: 114
Thanked 74 Times in 41 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rusty View Post
It could be that you need new brushes for the motor. It's worth a try because brushes are inexpensive and easy to replace.


I agree with Rusty. I had a similar problem on a kitchen exhaust fan. In my case it was easiest to replace the motor but I expect a Craftsman product to be serviceable.
DBreskin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2018, 07:14 PM   #8
KDL
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 97
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 6 Posts
Default

No brushes in that motor. Most likely the starting switch and or the starting capacitor. You can try cleaning the motor with compressed air. Sometimes sawdust will get into the starting switch preventing it from closing properly. It's a long shot but worth a try.
Best bet is remove the motor from the saw and bring it to a motor repair shop. Once repaired it will give you many more years of service.
Great saws. I have two of them.
KDL is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to KDL For This Useful Post:
DBreskin (07-17-2018)
Old 07-17-2018, 07:41 PM   #9
thinkxingu
Senior Member
 
thinkxingu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 2,111
Thanks: 584
Thanked 573 Times in 336 Posts
Default

This is what it looks like. I think it's a DeWalt AMF, not sure of year. I'm also not sure there's a capacitor as there is no control box, only a switch I think my dad wired some years back.

Sent from my Moto G (5S) Plus using Tapatalk
thinkxingu is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2018, 07:51 PM   #10
KDL
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 97
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 6 Posts
Default

Yup. Same as the ones I have.
The starting capacitor is inside that round enclosure near the square box on top of the motor. That's an easy change. Just match the ratings of the old unit with a new replacement.
The centrifugal starting switch is inside the motor and not accessible without taking the motor apart.
KDL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2018, 04:48 AM   #11
thinkxingu
Senior Member
 
thinkxingu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 2,111
Thanks: 584
Thanked 573 Times in 336 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KDL View Post
Yup. Same as the ones I have.
The starting capacitor is inside that round enclosure near the square box on top of the motor. That's an easy change. Just match the ratings of the old unit with a new replacement.
The centrifugal starting switch is inside the motor and not accessible without taking the motor apart.
Thanks for the tips--I'll take a look and get back with results.

Sent from my Moto G (5S) Plus using Tapatalk
thinkxingu is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2018, 12:42 PM   #12
thinkxingu
Senior Member
 
thinkxingu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 2,111
Thanks: 584
Thanked 573 Times in 336 Posts
Default

Hi! I started playing with the capacitor but can't figure out how to get it off. Do I need to remove the motor and pull off the covers or just "untab" it and pull it out? The wires seem to go into the motor without quick connects, etc.
Quote:
Originally Posted by KDL View Post
Yup. Same as the ones I have.
The starting capacitor is inside that round enclosure near the square box on top of the motor. That's an easy change. Just match the ratings of the old unit with a new replacement.
The centrifugal starting switch is inside the motor and not accessible without taking the motor apart.
Sent from my Moto G (5S) Plus using Tapatalk
thinkxingu is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2018, 12:54 PM   #13
SPT13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Weymouth Ma/Gilford when I can!
Posts: 56
Thanks: 79
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default saw

it should pop right out of the tab
SPT13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2018, 12:56 PM   #14
thinkxingu
Senior Member
 
thinkxingu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 2,111
Thanks: 584
Thanked 573 Times in 336 Posts
Default

I think my unit may have been painted over--is the capacitor the thing that should pop out, or is it inside that little tube?
Quote:
Originally Posted by SPT13 View Post
it should pop right out of the tab
Sent from my Moto G (5S) Plus using Tapatalk
thinkxingu is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2018, 01:37 PM   #15
SPT13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Weymouth Ma/Gilford when I can!
Posts: 56
Thanks: 79
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default Saw

Under the cover, usually black, about 3" long, & 1" wide.
The thing that pops out ( red button) is usually a thermal overload
SPT13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2018, 01:44 PM   #16
SPT13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Weymouth Ma/Gilford when I can!
Posts: 56
Thanks: 79
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default correction

Sorry,
just saw pic, it is mounted on the side & will snap out of the tabs. It will have an indent on the bottom & the cover to snap back in place
SPT13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2018, 03:33 PM   #17
thinkxingu
Senior Member
 
thinkxingu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 2,111
Thanks: 584
Thanked 573 Times in 336 Posts
Default

I think I've decided to sell this saw--I just don't have the time to fix it. Anyone interested? $50, if so. Cheers!

Sent from my Moto G (5S) Plus using Tapatalk
thinkxingu is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2018, 04:41 PM   #18
KDL
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 97
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 6 Posts
Default

Where you located? I might be interested.
KDL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2018, 04:44 PM   #19
thinkxingu
Senior Member
 
thinkxingu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 2,111
Thanks: 584
Thanked 573 Times in 336 Posts
Default

Merrimack, NH.

Sent from my Moto G (5S) Plus using Tapatalk
thinkxingu is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2018, 05:17 PM   #20
KDL
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 97
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 6 Posts
Default

I don't get out to your area too often. I'll have to pass for now.
Thanks
KDL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2018, 05:32 PM   #21
thinkxingu
Senior Member
 
thinkxingu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 2,111
Thanks: 584
Thanked 573 Times in 336 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KDL View Post
I don't get out to your area too often. I'll have to pass for now.
Thanks
Where are you?

Sent from my Moto G (5S) Plus using Tapatalk
thinkxingu is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2018, 06:39 PM   #22
KDL
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 97
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 6 Posts
Default

Central Mass and Alton.
KDL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2018, 08:19 PM   #23
thinkxingu
Senior Member
 
thinkxingu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 2,111
Thanks: 584
Thanked 573 Times in 336 Posts
Default

Gotcha. I don't get that way either. Feel free to check in if you'll be in my area.

Sent from my Moto G (5S) Plus using Tapatalk
thinkxingu is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2018, 07:19 PM   #24
fatlazyless
Senior Member
 
fatlazyless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 6,232
Thanks: 192
Thanked 476 Times in 352 Posts
Default

As of today, the www.pemivalleyhabitat.org/restore.htm has an old green deWalt overhead radial arm saw, 110v, looking in poor condition compared to yours and selling for $50. Could buy it for parts to combine with yours, or just donate yours to their collection of old saws which includes some belt drive Rockwell and Craftsman table saws, and an old Delta planer.

They have a lot of Benjamin Moore paint in gallons that supposedly came discarded/donated from Home Beautiful in Belmont; and the nearby Rand's Hardware in Plymouth on Main St, a first class Ben Moore dealer that does an excellent job of tinting, will tint your el cheapo ReStore BM gallons and quarts for a fee, so this is a way to get $30-50 Ben Moore for about 12.50/gal; $10-gal plus $2.50-tint.

Is easy to compare prices for the same Ben Moore paint, about $10 vs $40, with the hardware store and the Re-Store located about two fast miles apart.

Re-Store also has 15-gallons of Insl-x swimming pool paint in Ocean Blue for $10/gal (lists at $75)which is totally hubba hubba for painting exterior of an old boat ... a strong bright blue! This is some very expensive paint and Insl-x is a Ben Moore company, owned by Warren Buffet, so's for ten bucks, you can paint your old boat with paint for a billionaire and feel good about it, because Donald Trump hates boats ... ho-ho-ho ... dumb comment but true?
__________________
Down & out, livn that Walmart side of the lake!

Last edited by fatlazyless; 10-13-2018 at 05:45 AM.
fatlazyless is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

This page was generated in 10.35841 seconds