Go Back   Winnipesaukee Forum > Winnipesaukee Forums > Home, Cottage or Land Maintenance
Home Forums Gallery Webcams Blogs YouTube Channel Classifieds Calendar Register FAQDonate Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 12-27-2018, 05:16 PM   #1
bigdog

Default Propane usage ???

I'm new to propane gas user, with new home purchase this past June,
coming from oil heat, and concerned about my propane usage ?

I have a 2200 SF house, which is 14 yrs old, very well insulated, Marvin windows, gas furnace with separate hot water heater.

We keep the thermostats at 68 degrees in the main living area durning the day, then lower to 65 degrees at night. The upstairs bedrooms are kept at a constant 65 degrees.

I had 356 gal delivered on 12/6 to fill the tank (500 gal in ground, they only fill tank to 80-85%) and another 193 gal delivered today (12/27), which means I've burned about 10 gal per day ! The gas delivery driver did note that the gas regulator was covered with frost/ice, and the same with the gas hose line to the house ( Is this normal ?)

10 gal propane usage per day seems rather excessive !
Furnace was turned up in Sept., and assuming all was good?

Does 10 gal per day seem like a normal usage ?
We don't keep the house really warm, but comfortable, it's not like we're sitting around in our underwear, and wife is compiling she's always cold.

Thanks,
Bigdog
bigdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2018, 05:45 PM   #2
8gv

You may have a leak.

Tell them to bring out the sniffer.
8gv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2018, 06:43 PM   #3
ursa minor

Propane has fewer BTUs per gallon than fuel oil (92,000 BTU / gal for propane vs 140,000 BTUs /gal for #2 oil or roughly 50% less energy content per gallon for propane). If you were using 5 to 6 gallons a day in similar weather with oil in your old house assuming it was of similar size, what you’re seeing now is probably in the ballpark.