Go Back   Winnipesaukee Forum > Winnipesaukee Forums > History
Home Forums Gallery Webcams Blogs YouTube Channel Classifieds Calendar Register FAQDonate Members List Today's Posts

Old 03-24-2012, 09:46 AM   #1
rgilfert

Default Rattlesnake Island Geology / Formation

I'm a brand new member of this forum (or any forum for that matter) and clearly don't know what I'm doing yet. I'm also a new resident on Rattlesnake Island. I was reading through old posts on this forum and saw some about the history and geology of the Lakes Region. I'm interested in learning more about the geology of Rattlesnake (I was a Geology major in college a bazillion years ago). I came across the following quote and am wondering whether anyone has more information about it? "Rattlesnake Island is geologically part of the Belnap Mountains". I'd love to understand how the island was formed! Thanks.
rgilfert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2012, 10:01 AM   #2
BroadHopper

Thanked 1,090 Times in 784 Posts
Default Belknap Mountain Range

I was told that the Belknap Mtn range is what was once a volcano. The last ice age erode the volcano to what you see today.

The Ossipee Mtn range is also an extinct volcano. It is much more obvious today.

Find the Central Lakes Region Cartographic map, and you can see the distinction.

After the last ice age the lake was much higher. The outlet was Alton flowing to the ocean where Merrymeeting River is today.
Old 03-24-2012, 11:28 AM   #3
Slickcraft

Thanked 2,002 Times in 915 Posts

This book may be of interest.
http://www.perpublisher.com/per71.html

The author gave a talk atop Mt Major last fall and later at the Alton Library. I missed the talks but did hear that he is quite knowledgeable.
Slickcraft is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Slickcraft For This Useful Post:
rgilfert (03-24-2012)
Old 03-24-2012, 12:06 PM   #4
rgilfert

Default Thank you, Slickcraft!