Go Back   Winnipesaukee Forum > Winnipesaukee Forums > Boating
Home Forums Gallery Webcams Blogs YouTube Channel Classifieds Calendar Register FAQDonate Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 09-27-2018, 10:18 AM   #1
moose tracks

Location: Loudon, Tennessee, foothills of the Great Smoky Mountains
Default Navigation Display

I am new to boating and I am looking for some advice from my boating forum friends on a GPS chart plotter. To lean about the navigation hazards on Lake Winnipesaukee I used the Bizer chart of the lake and the Navionics app on my smart phone. For next year I would like to purchase a GPS chart plotter with about a 6 inch display which I can mount on my console. I am looking for advice on the best navigation display to purchase and the best navigational software for Lake Winnipesaukee. Thanks in advice for your recommendations.
Old 09-27-2018, 10:50 AM   #2
VitaBene

Thanked 1,599 Times in 820 Posts

I use a Raymarine Dragonfly 7 using the Navionics charts and highly recommend both! https://www.bing.com/aclick?ld=e3Qma...186f93427a39a7
VitaBene is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to VitaBene For This Useful Post:
moose tracks (09-27-2018)
Old 09-27-2018, 11:08 AM   #3
moose tracks

Location: Loudon, Tennessee, foothills of the Great Smoky Mountains

Quote:
Originally Posted by VitaBene View Post
I use a Raymarine Dragonfly 7 using the Navionics charts and highly recommend both!
Do I need the sonar feature if I am not going to be using it for fishing? Is the transducer easy to mount?
Old 09-27-2018, 12:02 PM   #4
Phantom

For a different brand -- we have the Garmin53CV and have had great luck with it -- when loaded with the Lakes chip (add$150)

https://www.amazon.com/Garmin-echoMA...+echomap&psc=1