Go Back   Winnipesaukee Forum > Winnipesaukee Forums > General Discussion
Home Forums Gallery Webcams Blogs YouTube Channel Classifieds Calendar Register FAQDonate Members List Today's Posts

Old 03-05-2014, 10:02 PM   #1
CAVU

Default living on an island year round

I feel the only realistic waterfront property I could afford is an island property. However, I am a year round resident so I would want to live there year round. Does anyone know if people live on some of the islands year round?? It would be great, ultimate solitude in the winter.. My only thoughts would be that i would need to have a mainland slip with deeded parking and a hovercraft for the off season..
CAVU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2014, 07:47 AM   #2
MikeF-NH

there would be a few months each year where the only safe way you could get back to the mainland would be via hovercraft when the ice is too much for a boat and too little to walk/ride on. Some islands have bridges to the main land such as: Long Island, Governors, and Black Cat.
MikeF-NH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2014, 07:50 AM   #3
Bizer

Quote:
Originally Posted by CAVU View Post
I feel the only realistic waterfront property I could afford is an island property. However, I am a year round resident so I would want to live there year round. Does anyone know if people live on some of the islands year round?? It would be great, ultimate solitude in the winter.. My only thoughts would be that i would need to have a mainland slip with deeded parking and a hovercraft for the off season..
I once met a teacher who lived on Whortleberry Island year-round. He walked to the mainland in the winter. In December and April, he lived in a motel for three weeks during ice-in/ice-out.
Bizer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2014, 09:09 AM   #4
Winnisquamguy

Quote:
Originally Posted by CAVU View Post
Here is a story about an island resident http://lakewinnipesaukee.wordpress.c...by-hovercraft/
Jeanzb1 (03-06-2014)