Go Back   Winnipesaukee Forum > Winnipesaukee Forums > Boating > Boat Repairs & Maintenance
Home Forums Gallery Webcams Blogs YouTube Channel Classifieds Calendar Register FAQDonate Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 06-24-2012, 08:05 AM   #1
bigdog

Default New boat, new issues,,, Suggestions ?

New boat , new issues....

The facts... Boat is MY 2000' CC, engine 2000 Johnson 90HP 2-sstoke.
FYI.... I've been boating on Winnie for over 40 yrs,, have owned many diff types of boats..

As this boat is new to me, and not knowing what the prior owner had done or not done at end of last season, I took some precautions before maiden launching, and did the normal basics: Charged battery, new Fuel filter, changed spark plugs, added fresh gas (89 octance), and added some 'Lucas' fuel additive at the advise of my mechanic. Gas tank was half full to begin.

Launched late in the day yesterday around 2pm, from Gilford Town docks.
Headed out toward Sleeper's Island and Minge cove to anchor and swim, didn't want to push the boat or engine on iniital outting. Engine was purring along fine, and doing only about 20MPH. Conditions were fine, ligh wind, and not much chop, as I was running along the shoreline. Between Belknap Point and Elacoya State Park, then engine started to cough,choke, so I turned boat around and started to head back to the Gilford ramp, when my engine died.