Go Back   Winnipesaukee Forum > Winnipesaukee Forums > Boating
Home Forums Gallery Webcams Blogs YouTube Channel Classifieds Calendar Register FAQDonate Members List Today's Posts

Old 06-28-2004, 09:27 AM   #1
sunsation dave

Default help picking a gps

hello
their was a old topic on gps for winni with bizers c map
what is the best gps color to buy and load the c map into it. i am new to the lake any want a 6 or 8 inch gps color. to help me learn the lake.
any info will be very helpfull.

thanks
sunsation dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2004, 10:19 AM   #2
jrc

Default four least expensive color

Standard Horizon CP155c
Navman 5500
Interphase V6
Sitex Colormax 6

There are internal and external versions of each. Each cost $600-800, if you shop around. Check the archives for opinions. Check the link for a complete list.

http://www.c-map.com/productinfo/NT+...s/Partners.asp
jrc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2004, 09:56 PM   #3
PHDIII

Default Navman GPS

I recently purchased a Navman 5500i (internal antenna) and a C-Map chip of Winni. I paid $600 and $89. respectively via internet purchase . We were on the lake all last week and the system worked flawlessly. I think the extra money to get the color version was well worth the investment.
Having the unit onboard reduces the "pain in my ear".
PHDIII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2004, 10:34 AM   #4
sunsation dave

thanks everbody

hey phd lll

is the 5500 a hand held or a dash mount with a fixed antenna
my dealer sells the std horizon for 700 5 in screen color
but you have to mount a antenna
did you put on a antenna

thanks
sunsation dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2004, 07:29 PM   #5
PHDIII

Default Navman GPS