Go Back   Winnipesaukee Forum > Winnipesaukee Forums > Home, Cottage or Land Maintenance
Home Forums Gallery Webcams Blogs YouTube Channel Classifieds Calendar Register FAQDonate Members List Today's Posts

Old 11-05-2013, 11:00 PM   #1
bigdog

Default Firewood?

Will be purchasing some firewood shortly (I know I'm late)....

A person I recently contacted, sells seasoned mixed firewood.
Maple, Oak, Birch and Swamp Maple

What the heck is 'swamp maple'? That's a new one to me, and I've been burning wood for over 20 yrs....

He said it is harder and denser that regular maple.
Is this wood any good to burn in my fireplace wood-stove insert?

Thanks!
bigdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2013, 12:41 AM   #2
Resident 2B

I have burned some swamp maple and I was not impressed.

I found this on eHow:

Density and BTUs

Swamp maple is considered a "soft" maple because its wood has a lower density than "hard" maple, like sugar and black maples. Denser wood produces more heat, measured in British Thermal Units (BTUs). Swamp maple produces about 19 million BTUs per cord, which is rather low compared to other hard woods. The best hardwood produces up to 29 million BTUs per cord while the worst produces only 15 million BTUs.

Positives

Other than its low heat value, swamp maple has a number of characteristics that make it good firewood. It produces only a light amount of smoke and doesn't spark when burning. It also has excellent coaling qualities, which means that it continues burning as embers for a long time. It is also fairly easy to start burning.

Negatives

Besides the low heat value, swamp maple only has one other negative. Typically, softer wood is easier to split. However, this is not true of swamp maple, which is considered moderately difficult to split. Firewood must be split to allow it to dry out and season. Reducing the moisture content raises the amount of heat that the wood produces.

Read more: http://www.ehow.com/info_8751686_swa...#ixzz2jqCpIpM9