Winnipesaukee Forum

Winnipesaukee Forum (https://www.winnipesaukee.com/forums/index.php)
-   Home, Cottage or Land Maintenance (https://www.winnipesaukee.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=8)
-   -   Aqua-Therm questions (https://www.winnipesaukee.com/forums/showthread.php?t=13266)

Gatto Nero 11-05-2011 02:30 PM

Aqua-Therm questions

This is my first year using an aqua-therm around my dock and I have a couple of questions that I'm sure lots forum members have opinions on.

I have a 1/2 HP de-icer strung between two docks that form a U. It hangs about 4' down in about 6' of water. I also purchased a time and temperature controller. I currently have the temp gauge set to 30 degrees.

My questions are:

1) Is that temp setting OK or should it be higher/lower?
2) How long and how often I should I have it run when it drops below the set temperature?
3) Where can I buy the official Danger, Thin Ice sign?

Thanks in advance.

secondcurve 11-05-2011 04:12 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Gatto Nero (Post 171475)
This is my first year using an aqua-therm around my dock and I have a couple of questions that I'm sure lots forum members have opinions on.

I have a 1/2 HP de-icer strung between two docks that form a U. It hangs about 4' down in about 6' of water. I also purchased a time and temperature controller. I currently have the temp gauge set to 30 degrees.

My questions are:

1) Is that temp setting OK or should it be higher/lower?
2) How long and how often I should I have it run when it drops below the set temperature?
3) Where can I buy the official Danger, Thin Ice sign?

Thanks in advance.

I'm not sure about questions 1 & 2 but a quick google of "thin ice signs" brings up lots of options. Good luck

MarkinNH 11-05-2011 04:22 PM

1- I would think that 30 degrees is a good temp to set it at. If the temp rises above 30 degrees it won't run and below 30 it will. Personally I don't bother with temp controls. All the aquatherms I deal with are run strictly by a time clock.