Winnipesaukee Forum

Winnipesaukee Forum (https://www.winnipesaukee.com/forums/index.php)
-   Boat Repairs & Maintenance (https://www.winnipesaukee.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=32)
-   -   Mixing gas additives ? (https://www.winnipesaukee.com/forums/showthread.php?t=21321)

bigdog 09-28-2016 11:51 AM

Mixing gas additives ?

Are there any issues mixing gas additives in the gas ?

I have been adding Star-Tron to gas, all during the season...

I'm having the motor winterized by Marina, and I believe they use Sta-Bil blue.

Are there any issues having two different additives in the gas ?

Thanks !

SAB1 09-28-2016 12:10 PM

I'm not an expert but I have not had a problem as of yet. I also use Star - tron. I have been buying all my gas on the water the past couple years which already has an additive in it.

ishoot308 09-28-2016 12:36 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigdog (Post 270270)

Thanks !

No, none whatsoever...

Dan

Rich 09-28-2016 01:54 PM

I use Star-Tron also, all year with every fill up.

I remember seeing a note from them that it is compatible with other additives, but I can't find a 'FAQ' on their new website.
http://www.starbrite.com/startron

But there is a left over FAQ on their old web site here:
http://www.starbrite.co.za/faq.html
Quote:

I'd like to use Star Tron when I fill up the tank, but having used other additives before I'd like to know if Star Tron is compatible

Star tron is compatible to any kind of additives you have used previously without any danger.

HellRaZoR004 09-28-2016 03:19 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by SAB1 (Post 270271)
I'm not an expert but I have not had a problem as of yet. I also use Star - tron. I have been buying all my gas on the water the past couple years which already has an additive in it.

Unfortunately this is not true everywhere. For instance, MVYC does not add additive, they do sell the bottles though.

DesertDweller 09-28-2016 05:54 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by HellRaZoR004 (Post 270284)