PDA

View Full Version : Franconia Notch Question. Help me out!

murph
02-15-2009, 01:49 PM
Somebody has to know the answer to this question. I have been riding up north now for about 3 or 4 years after several years around the lake. It seems like every single time i go up north Franconia Notch is beautiful until you hit the bridge and start heading toward twin mountain. please, anyone, how come there is NEVER snow after you pass cannon mountain? I went there yesterday and the only snow on the ground at all was the dusting they got up there the other night. Somebody help me out!

VitaBene
02-15-2009, 05:14 PM
Somebody has to know the answer to this question. I have been riding up north now for about 3 or 4 years after several years around the lake. It seems like every single time i go up north Franconia Notch is beautiful until you hit the bridge and start heading toward twin mountain. please, anyone, how come there is NEVER snow after you pass cannon mountain? I went there yesterday and the only snow on the ground at all was the dusting they got up there the other night. Somebody help me out!

Murph. We just came back from Bretton and noticed the same thing and have in years past as well. It only lasts a few miles or so then picks up again.

Maybe Don can move this to weather forum- those folks will chime in

Rose
02-15-2009, 06:34 PM
Precipitation shadow (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rain_shadow)

There are several papers available online (http://www.google.com/search?q=precipitation+shadow&ie=utf-8&oe=utf-8&aq=t&rls=org.mozilla:en-US:official&client=firefox-a) for those who want to read more about it.

murph
02-15-2009, 08:16 PM
thanks rose! that explains it.

chipj29
02-16-2009, 08:05 AM