PDA

View Full Version : Difference btwn trout & salmon?

Major problem
02-12-2008, 10:39 AM
Can anyone point me to an online resource for a definative description of landlocked salmon and winter trout?

My buddy caught a fish during the derby and we asked for a second opinion from many people who said it was definately a trout. The weigh-in people said it wasn't a rainbow. The fish had some color but from what we've been told there are no brown trout in Winni. The pic I have shows a forked tail but when laid flat it was square.

I've been fishing Winni for many years and every winter we've cut the line on many a "salmon". There's always a debate about species ID.

The fishing laws extract and derby brochure don't seem to capture the subtle differences.

From what I've seen, there are many thousands of seasoned ice fisherman/gals that also get confused. The penalties for taking a salmon through the ice are very harsh. Everyone is supposed to know the difference just from seeing the head of the fish in a two foot hole on a cloudy day.

secondcurve
02-12-2008, 10:57 AM
My first instinct is to say it is a Salmon, but I could be wrong. My advice is to post the same photo on Fishlakewinni.com Those folks will know. Good luck.

Resident 2B
02-12-2008, 12:07 PM
Major Problem,

I am almost positive that it is a landlocked, Atlantic Salmon. Sometimes, you have to see the fish.

Check out this link: http://www.landbigfish.com/fish/fish.cfm?ID=104

R2B

Smitty1
02-12-2008, 12:33 PM
It looks like a Salmon to me.

At the seminar on Friday night John Viar of Fish and Game said the rainbow trout have spots on their Caudal fins.

Here is a link to Fish and Game:
http://www.wildlife.state.nh.us/Fishing/salmon_v_browntrout.htm

Smitty1

trfour
02-12-2008, 12:36 PM
I think your right, R2B. I used to catch the salt water version while fishing the North River on Cape Breton Island, in my younger days.

jrc
02-12-2008, 03:16 PM
Throw it back quick, it's a salmon.

FLAG!