PDA

View Full Version : Coal Stoves?

Woodsy
10-24-2005, 12:50 PM
With Cordwood approaching $300+ and oil projected to be $3 per gallon I have been considering a coal stove. Coal seems pretty stable at $250/ton delivered.

What are the pros / cons of burning coal?

Woodsy

ApS
10-24-2005, 04:18 PM
You don't state what the furnace is, but my coal experience was in an antique cast iron woodstove. (The stove was designed to use either wood or coal). Coal was available from Ossipee Energy.

Anthracite coal is a little difficult to start (use wood-charcoal only to start it) and, compared to seasoned wood, puts out A REALLY HOT HEAT!

It's only because it thoroughly baked the living room, that I returned to burning wood.

It seemed clean enough in every respect, though.

ITD
10-24-2005, 05:43 PM
Woodsy,

Not sure I believe the $3.00/ gallon heating oil, although I guess it could happen. I have no experience with coal, my sister in law heated her house with it for a few years (with a stove specifically designed to burn coal). They finally converted the house from electric baseboard to forced hot water by either gas or oil, I don't remember. Coal worked well, but they always had a fine coating of black dust throughout the house, that's why they gave up on it.

Rattlesnake Gal
10-25-2005, 06:09 AM
Have you considered a pellet stove?

Woodsy
10-25-2005, 07:03 AM
Thanks for the advice... keep it coming!

I am looking at two different coal stoves, a Vermont Castings Vigilant II, (identical to the wood burner I have now), and a Harman Magnafire Mk II. Both stoves seem pretty comparable, they are (according to the mfg) very clean burning. The price points are similar, the Vermont Castings is about $1299 and the Harman is $1517. The Harman has blower and thats a pretty neat feature. I figure I can sell my current Vermont Castings to help offset the cost.