PDA

View Full Version : Does Anyone Remember The Pirate's Den ...

NHBUOY
07-17-2011, 09:01 PM
...in Wolfboro.?. In the early '60's, my father's SOP on friday nights, when we got to the lake, was to take our fam in the boat over there from Alton to eat. I loved that place. In the winter, the friday night feed was held at Dot's. Another lost gem.

william s. littlesr
01-11-2013, 02:53 PM
during the summer of 1965 i worked there. During the day i was a dock boy, and in the evening i was a salid chef. My mother was the executive chef. Larry Grover owned the place. He was from california, and played a slide trombone with the dixieland band that was made up of college kids from Cal.
We use to run errands into town on a three wheeled scooter that was named the BUZZ BOMB. A great place to work. I have tons more info if you are interested.
Bill Little
Martha's Vineyard

tis
01-11-2013, 03:44 PM
Yes, we are interested! I also remember it. What was Larry's boat called, was it the Californian?? What a neat place. I was too young to go there though.

Just Sold
01-11-2013, 08:03 PM
My dad took us a couple of times by boat. It was great to pull up in the boat as it was the only restaurant with its own dock on that end of the lake.

secondcurve
01-12-2013, 05:14 PM
My dad took us a couple of times by boat. It was great to pull up in the boat as it was the only restaurant with its own dock on that end of the lake.

What building was the restaurant in? I started coming to the era in the 70s and don't recall the Pirate's Den.

tis
01-12-2013, 06:48 PM
What building was the restaurant in? I started coming to the era in the 70s and don't recall the Pirate's Den.

It is now the Windrifter-the one on the lake-the last part of the building toward the dock.

Rusty
01-12-2013, 07:09 PM
It is now the Windrifter-the one on the lake-the last part of the building toward the dock.