PDA

View Full Version : Boat Insurance, etc.

DoftheMattysort
09-27-2004, 04:10 PM
I'm looking for some comments and suggestions.

I just bought my first boat, it is a 1980 Citation 185 with a 190 horse 4.3 Merc Alpha LX. (Yes, a real beauty.)

I got it for the low, low price of nothing and figure it would be fun to whip around in and learn about boating before I jumped into something more serious.

Anywho, I am wondering if anyone knows about insurance, is something this old even worth getting insured? If it is, how much should I expect to pay? I have no boating experience and am looking for the least expensive way around this, I know the boat is only worth like $1500 so I couldn't justify spending $1000/season to insure it. Also, does anybody have any other advice about starting out in boating that could help me? Thanks in advance for your help.

Old Hubbard Rd
09-27-2004, 04:53 PM
You absolutely need insurance. Not just for your boat but also the boat you could possibly hit, or the person you could possible run over by accident. Get the picture. It's rather inexpensive. Your probably talking about $200-$300 per year. Good Luck.

JG1222
09-27-2004, 04:55 PM
...it would be fun to whip around in and learn about boating before I jumped into something more serious.

I have no boating experience and am looking for the least expensive way around this...

Also, does anybody have any other advice about starting out in boating that could help me?

Listen, if you're sincere about seeking advice here, before you even start thinking about insurance for that boat, you should be looking for a boating safety course (Coast Guard Auxiliary, Power Squadron, etc.) to take over the winter.

You said you had no boating experience - I know the temptation is very strong to hop in that boat and take advantage of the last few weekends, but do us all a favor and look into this course first.