Go Back   Winnipesaukee Forum > Winnipesaukee Forums > General Discussion
Home Forums Gallery YouTube Channel Classifieds Links Blogs Calendar Register FAQDonate Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-17-2013, 02:19 PM   #1
Sunbeam lodge
Senior Member
 
Sunbeam lodge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Meredith/Naples Florida
Posts: 297
Thanks: 107
Thanked 19 Times in 17 Posts
Default Metrocast TV alternatives

I was surprised that we did not get the Bruins playoffs and found out you need to rent a special modem and then call in for the game.
I spend $72 monthly and the TV programs are lousy or reruns of Alaska. Are there any good alternatives to Metrocast in the lakes area. I don't want to go Dish
Sunbeam lodge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2013, 02:57 PM   #2
Happy Gourmand
Senior Member
 
Happy Gourmand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nashua and Meredith
Posts: 840
Thanks: 147
Thanked 273 Times in 151 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sunbeam lodge View Post
I was surprised that we did not get the Bruins playoffs and found out you need to rent a special modem and then call in for the game.
I spend $72 monthly and the TV programs are lousy or reruns of Alaska. Are there any good alternatives to Metrocast in the lakes area. I don't want to go Dish
I too was pretty upset that I couldn't watch the game on Saturday night. Hard to imagine that the NHL didn't broadcast this on national TV on one of the major networks. We send Metrocast too much $$$ every month to use the cable only on weekends. I have some neighbors in Meredith who actually went back home on Saturday because they couldn't get the game with their cable plan.
Happy Gourmand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2013, 03:14 PM   #3
BroadHopper
Senior Member
 
BroadHopper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Laconia NH / Breckenridge CO
Posts: 3,669
Thanks: 1,678
Thanked 606 Times in 408 Posts
Default Metrocast

I have extended cable with NO cable box. You need to find the equivalent digital channels, make a list and your good to go!

No need to get HD service and all that expensive crap.
__________________
Someday may never be an actual day.
BroadHopper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2013, 03:15 PM   #4
AC2717
Senior Member
 
AC2717's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Maynard, MA & Paugus Bay
Posts: 1,475
Thanks: 326
Thanked 128 Times in 95 Posts
Default

I have dish network with almost every station under the sun and I did not get it last night either, I am pissed, they wanted like another $30 a month for that
__________________
Capt. of the "Nevah Land"
AC2717 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2013, 05:09 PM   #5
wifi
Senior Member
 
wifi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Lakes Region
Posts: 946
Thanks: 163
Thanked 182 Times in 103 Posts
Default

Time Warner didn't have it either. Don't know if its blacked out in the area. Friends with Dish DID have it.
wifi is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 06-17-2013, 05:32 PM   #6
PaugusBayFireFighter
Senior Member
 
PaugusBayFireFighter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Paugus Bay, Laconia N.H.
Posts: 545
Thanks: 230
Thanked 399 Times in 161 Posts
Default

I have DIRECT TV mainly because Metrocast is terrible and the only game in town. I'm happy with the service. My sister just got connected and is paying ~$60. and that includes NBCSN which has the Stanley Cup Playoffs. She is able to disconnect in the fall and reconnect in the spring.
PaugusBayFireFighter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2013, 06:14 PM   #7
upthesaukee
Senior Member
 
upthesaukee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Alton Bay
Posts: 3,247
Blog Entries: 2
Thanks: 556
Thanked 713 Times in 412 Posts
Default Your anger is misplaced!!!

The NBC network won the rights to broadcast the NHL Stanley cup playoffs. It is THEIR decision to broadcast it on a channel (NBC Sports network) that is a premium channel.

There are still a great deal of people who do not have cable or a satellite system for their TV. They still have the antennas on their roof. They are cut out of any game that was not on a standard NBC station. They would not receive programming from MSNBC or their sports network.

The NBC Sports Network is not normal lineup channel for almost all carriers. It is almost always a premium channel that is in the upper echelon of premium channels. To get it, and others like it, you have to have all the underlying packages. Not cheap.

Sooooooo, the blame is not Metrocast, Dish, DirectTV, TWC....nope it the same Network Conglomerate, NBC who has messed up the Weather channel and others under their corporate umbrella. But that is a different thread in a different forum.

Bottom line, direct your attention to NBC.
__________________
I Live Here... I am always UPTHESAUKEE !!!!
upthesaukee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2013, 06:34 PM   #8
ishoot308
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Chester, NH / Gilford, NH / Welch Island
Posts: 2,295
Thanks: 795
Thanked 1,515 Times in 576 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AC2717 View Post
I have dish network with almost every station under the sun and I did not get it last night either, I am pissed, they wanted like another $30 a month for that
Hmmm... I have Dish and I had the game. Didn't pay extra either. I have the standard Americas top 250 channel line up. It's on channel 9466 NBCSP in high definition.

Dan
__________________
It's Always Sunny On Welch Island!!
ishoot308 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2013, 08:17 PM   #9
PENIVISA
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 18
Thanks: 1
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Default

I know this don't help for tonight but games 4,5,6,7 are on channel 7
The area restaurants that have T V`s love it. Spent a few games at the Bayside in Wolfeboro.
The atmosphere was awesome
PENIVISA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2013, 01:42 AM   #10
Greene's Basin Girl
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Moultonborough, NH
Posts: 1,012
Thanks: 258
Thanked 290 Times in 162 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wifi View Post
Time Warner didn't have it either. Don't know if its blacked out in the area. Friends with Dish DID have it.
Time Warner had it on Channel 126. I watched it.
Greene's Basin Girl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2013, 07:08 AM   #11
SIKSUKR
Senior Member
 
SIKSUKR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 4,227
Thanks: 191
Thanked 622 Times in 363 Posts
Default

Ok,I'll be a little bit of a wise guy here but if you just found out that you don't get all the Bruins playoff games then you have not been watching them the last 2 series.The rest of the games are on the normal NBC network.
__________________
SIKSUKR
SIKSUKR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2013, 04:33 PM   #12
goldengirl
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 11
Thanks: 27
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default

We spent about 70 minutes on hold waiting for a metrocast operator to assist us. They told us we had to pay $11.00 more per month to get this station and I think it comes with some other sport stations. So needless to say by the time we were able to tune in the game was well into the 2nd period. Like others have said it's not metrocasts fault it was NBC who opted to put it on their sports network sister station so they could air "Chicago Fire" and other shows that are popular. It's all about the $$$$$!
goldengirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2013, 04:14 PM   #13
EllyPoinster
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 160
Thanks: 13
Thanked 25 Times in 20 Posts
Default Morons!

How NBC could choose to air reruns on its flagship network while pushing out the hockey games to its sports network is beyond me. The only thing that's clear is why NBC is dead last in the ratings.

I have Dish but the NBC Sports Network channel was "Not Authorized". I did see the games though through my Comcast Xfinity subscription at home which allowed me to pull it in over the internet and then by HDMI cable from my laptop to the TV. I love it when a plan comes together.
EllyPoinster is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

This page was generated in 0.10021 seconds