Go Back   Winnipesaukee Forum > Winnipesaukee Forums > Boating
Home Forums Gallery Webcams Blogs YouTube Channel Classifieds Calendar Register FAQDonate Members List Today's Posts

Old 12-18-2006, 11:10 PM   #1
John E

Default Newbie advice?

Any advice for a newbie boater on visiting Winnipesaukee? I have a small inboard mastercraft bowrider. I was planning on staying a weekend in May at one of the lakefront hotels possibly the Inns at Bay Point to get a little familiar with the lake. I figure it's early season and wouldn't be too busy.

I'd also like to stay a week in the summer. Doesn't need to be the big lake if there's other recommendations.

I'm not young, and will be with my wife (no kids).

I'll take any advice anyone wants to share. About the lake, navigation, restaurants, anything.

I just joined the forum, and plan to spend the winter reading through the new and archived posts.

Thanks in advance,

John
John E is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2006, 06:03 AM   #2
This'nThat

Default Dress warm

If you're boating in May -- bring a jacket. And sweater. Maybe some gloves. Just be prepared for a cool weekend, although it could also be very nice.

You're right -- boat traffic should be lighter then. But if the wind blows, hug the coastline in a small boat. Also make sure you get a navigation map of the lake and study it before you go out. That way you can avoid some of the hazards and tight spots, like the Witches, for example.

It's fun to cruise slowly along the shore. In May, people are opening their houses, so there'll be a lot of shore activity to observe. And although many complain about the McMansions, just looking at them is great fun! There's no way you can see it all in a weekend, so don't try.

Take a morning cruise, and an evening cruise. The sunrises and sunsets across the water and mountains are fantastic.