Go Back   Winnipesaukee Forum > Winnipesaukee Forums > Boating
Home Forums Gallery Webcams Blogs YouTube Channel Classifieds Calendar Register FAQDonate Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 06-28-2006, 04:30 PM   #1
sgold44

Cool New to the Lake

Hello. This is my first year on the lake( I used to be an ocean boater). I would love to get some ideas on coves, swimming areas, sand bars etc.
I hava a GPS w/a c-map chart of the lake, so I can find my way around pretty well. I have a slip at Parker Marine in Alton Bay. We love to explore. I have 2 daughters, 8 & 11, (and a wife) (can't forget about her!!)
Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks,
Scott G.
Sea's The Day III
sgold44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2006, 05:28 PM   #2
WINNOCTURN
Deceased Member

Default Get a CHART of the Lake!

Have you signed up to take the Marine Safety Course; it’s mandatory for any one who will be driving the boat.

First thing, never utter the words RED RIGHT RETURN! There is No return on a lake. I would highly recommend getting a chart of the Lake. No I demand you get a chart before venturing out on the Lake. This Lake is very unforgiving. You can be in 50’ of water one minute and 2’ in another. Oh, did we mention ROCKS? Do you know where the”Witchs” is?

The Bizer charts show dotted lines to follow around the navigational markers, rocks and other obstacles. I would rely on this much more than a GPS unit starting out on the Lake. Pick a destination, plan your course and repeat the trip till you are comfortable with it. Better than that if you know some one with experience on the Lake, ask them to go out with you and show you some of the more easer traveled routs, to Wolfeboro, Winter Harbor and when you really think you got it down try the Weirs and the Channel for fun. The last place you mat want to conquer is Moultonboro.