Go Back   Winnipesaukee Forum > Winnipesaukee Forums > Boating
Home Forums Gallery Webcams Blogs YouTube Channel Classifieds Calendar Register FAQDonate Members List Today's Posts

Old 12-03-2006, 07:33 PM   #1
rmorse27

I had a chance to look at a boat slip at Akwa Marina last friday.First of all the place has no gas docks or mechanics.The place looks very run down and not very impressive.They wanted $2884 for a boat slip,for what I ask you.I know im new to boating but for $2884 I should get more than what they offer.Maybe im wrong.
rmorse27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2006, 06:07 PM   #2
secondcurve

That seems a little bit on the high side, but it certainly has been a sellers market for the past 5 or 6 years. That being said, this spring may be a bit softer if the economy slips. Where is Akwa Marina? My biggest concern would be not having a mechanic handy. Good luck.
secondcurve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2006, 06:26 PM   #3
rmorse27

Quote:
Originally Posted by secondcurve
That seems a little bit on the high side, but it certainly has been a sellers market for the past 5 or 6 years. That being said, this spring may be a bit softer if the economy slips. Where is Akwa Marina? My biggest concern would be not having a mechanic handy. Good luck.

Akwa Marina is about 2 miles up the road from Wiers beach on the right hand side.
rmorse27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2006, 07:30 PM   #4
The Big Kahuna

Default It is a bargin

Quote:
Originally Posted by secondcurve
I do not know where they are but most marinas charge between $3,000 and $5,000 for the season to store a boat. Even the private slips can't be had for less than $2,000, unless you know someone.
The Big Kahuna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2006, 08:47 PM   #5
Paugus Bay Resident

A lot depends on the size (beam and length) and if shore power, cable, water, etc. is available. Around $100+ a foot (with minimal services) is certainly not unheard of.