Go Back   Winnipesaukee Forum > Winnipesaukee Forums > Boating
Home Forums Gallery Webcams Blogs YouTube Channel Classifieds Calendar Register FAQDonate Members List Today's Posts

Old 08-07-2015, 01:33 PM   #1
snowman

Default How to drop anchor in Braun Bay?

I am new to boating and am trying to learn how one navigates and anchors into a crowded area like Braun Bay. If someone could describe the step by step process it would be much appreciated.

Thanks
snowman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2015, 02:03 PM   #2
VitaBene

Thanked 1,601 Times in 821 Posts

http://www.winnipesaukee.com/forums/...ad.php?t=19551

Start with this thread- some good stuff here.
VitaBene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2015, 02:25 PM   #3
caloway

Default anchoring

First, get yourself a second anchor. Everyone anchors their bow, then stern to keep from swinging around in tight quarters.

When you come in, make sure you pick a spot 25' from all other boats. Because of all of the other boats and the double anchors/rope, I'll frequently shut it off when it gets shallow and walk it where I want it.

The other alternative is to get there before 10 and make everybody else work around where you've set it. In Braun, make sure you're past the 75' marker or you'll be too close to shore.
caloway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2015, 03:28 PM   #4
thinkxingu

Thanked 1,962 Times in 1,212 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by caloway View Post
The other alternative is to get there before 10 and make everybody else work around where you've set it.
The only problem I found with this as a new boater is that I would get blocked in, which I always found more difficult than picking a spot.

Just take it slow, making sure to pay attention to incoming boats' wakes, and you'll be fine.

Sent from my XT1528 using Tapatalk
thinkxingu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2015, 08:38 AM   #5
marcucci