Go Back   Winnipesaukee Forum > Winnipesaukee Forums > Boating
Home Forums Gallery Webcams Blogs YouTube Channel Classifieds Calendar Register FAQDonate Members List Today's Posts

Old 08-24-2007, 03:29 PM   #1
AltonGuy

Default Where to Launch?

Hi Guys. This may be something already posted in the past so forgive the redundancy if thats the case! I haven't boated in a couple of years and I just got my Boat squared away and ready to go. I have gone boating a few times in the previous state I lived in but certainly I am no expert. I was wondering if anyone could recommend a launching ramp/site that is less crowded or perhaps gathers a more patient crowd? I foresee myself being very rusty and would love to find an area which would be less stressful! I am looking to access Lake Winni and I live in Alton. Therefore a place in that vicinity would be great. Although I would be willing to travel for the right location Thanks in advance
AltonGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2007, 04:55 PM   #2
Mee-n-Mac

Arrow Why not in Alton

I don't see the Alton ramp all that busy, especially if you're off-time. If you want to pay then go "across the street" to Downings private ramp. Head towards Gilford and there's Ames Farm. Search the forum and you'll find other possibilities and more advice but my best advice is to avoid the busy times ... like during a fishing tournament !
Old 08-24-2007, 05:46 PM   #3
Uncle Fun

Default Launching

Ames Farm is great because there is plenty of place to maneuver and back up and the parking is plentiful... If you want quiet and tranquility, try West Alton Marina or Minge Cove Marine... Those places are super quiet and rarely crowded... Any one of these should give you the peace of mind of launching without a big circus crowd watching or hassling you... GOOD LUCK!!! P.S. Remeber to put your drain plug in first!!!!
Old 08-24-2007, 09:04 PM   #4
Captain Zipper