Go Back   Winnipesaukee Forum > Winnipesaukee Forums > Boating
Home Forums Gallery Webcams Blogs YouTube Channel Classifieds Calendar Register FAQDonate Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 03-11-2010, 09:39 PM   #1
seanymah

Default Marine Surveyor

I am somewhat new to boating and I have purchase a used boat and the insurance company is requiring a marine survey.

Does anyone have any information on surveyors in the area? What would be considered a "the going rate" for a marine survey?

Thanks for any help.
seanymah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2010, 10:07 AM   #2
codeman671

Here is who I recommend. For an insurance company-required survey it is probably important to use someone that is nationally accredited, which not all surveyors are. Anyone can claim to be able to survey a boat, but having the credentials to back it up speaks loudly.

http://www.marinesurveyor.com/mlc/

Going rate depends on the services required. Compression check/mechanical check, overall hull and equipment, sea trials, etc. I think on average it is about $17 per foot for the normal survey without sea trials or compression.
codeman671 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2010, 10:54 AM   #3
NoBozo

There are a couple of kinds of Marine Surveys. I am not a Surveyor but I had a 32 foot sailboat surveyed 20 years ago.

There is a survey done as part of a pre-purchase agreement prior to buying the boat. The person about to buy the boat pays for the survey and a lot of stuff is checked (compression, etc) according to what the buyer asks for.