Go Back   Winnipesaukee Forum > Winnipesaukee Forums > Boating
Home Forums Gallery Webcams Blogs YouTube Channel Classifieds Calendar Register FAQDonate Members List Today's Posts

Old 10-12-2005, 09:26 PM   #1
Glove

Default seeking feedback on marinas

I’m a soon-to-be first time boater, and finalizing a choice between a new Chaparral 204ssi, Bryant 206wt, and Crownline 200ls (all 20 – 21 ft bowriders with walkthrough transoms…two are V8 carb; one is a V8 fuel injected). They each have their pros/cons, but all 3 very good quality boats. I’ve done lots of homework and have driven all three boats.

We will use valet service. As a novice, I’m most concerned about making sure my wife and young kids have a great time on the lake. Thus, it’s my conclusion that the marina can make a big difference in our experience (friendliness/helpfulness to newbies, quality of service, quality of facilities). And as a novice, I think it’s best to keep the best to keep the boat at the marina where we purchase it for servicing, problems, help, etc. Also, these marinas claim no room for winter storage unless you purchase the boat from them.

Thus, I am looking for information (positive or negative) to help me sort out if our (newbie) family experience at one of these three marinas (Paugus Bay (Bryant), Channel Marine (Crownline), Fays Boatyard (Chaparral)) will significantly impact on our experience.

I would appreciate any helpful feedback. Thanks very much.
Glove is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2005, 10:16 PM   #2
jrc

Default Some tips

I've seen a lot about Fay's here in the past, use the search. Don't remember seeing the other's here.

There is some merit, especially for new boaters, in being at the dealer's marina. They will be there when you forget to turn of the battery and it won't start, when that strange buzzer goes off, you can't remember what fluid to put in what hole and when you can't figure out how to set up the canvas.