Go Back   Winnipesaukee Forum > Winnipesaukee Forums > General Discussion
Home Forums Gallery Webcams Blogs YouTube Channel Classifieds Calendar Register FAQDonate Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 05-29-2014, 06:43 AM   #1
LadyJane

Default Vacation Rental "etiquette"

I've been renting a house in Meredith for the past four years for one week in the summer. It's been great ! however, the owners have decided to not rent anymore. The problem is that they didn't tell me that until yesterday and only after many attempts on my part to reach them via phone and email. They also have decided to keep my security deposit, claiming that I did damage to their refrigerator last year, which I did not. Those of you who rent your homes, what is your opinion on this, and those who are renters........what would you do? It bothers me because I was always very respectful of this person's property and took good care of it. It is unfair.
LadyJane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2014, 07:42 AM   #2
chipj29

I would ask for some sort of evidence about the damage you caused to the refrigerator. Seems strange that they are now keeping your security deposit after something that occurred last year.
Old 05-29-2014, 07:57 AM   #3
nhcatrider

You are supposed to be notified within 30 days of any damages in writing. This is part of the reason why my family uses a rental agency for our ski condo, makes it much easier to control and clean.
nhcatrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2014, 08:10 AM   #4
DBreskin

If the deposit was from last summer's rental why hadn't you received it earlier? Usually contracts stipulate return of a deposit within 30 days after conclusion of the rental period.

If the deposit was from the coming summer's rental, they have no right to use it for claims against an earlier rental.

If you have a contract for the rental, check it to determine your rights.
DBreskin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2014, 08:15 AM   #5
Coolbreeze