Go Back   Winnipesaukee Forum > Winnipesaukee Forums > Boating
Home Forums Gallery Webcams Blogs YouTube Channel Classifieds Calendar Register FAQDonate Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 09-23-2016, 06:57 AM   #1
RUGMAN

Smile prepare mooring for winter

this is my first year dealing with a mooring, how does one prepare a mooring for the winter, not ready to do yet, but want to be prepared
RUGMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2016, 07:02 AM   #2
codeman671

Really the only thing to do is decide how you are going to mark it. Most do the typical Clorox bottle, tie a rope to it and let the chain sink. Attach a bottle to the top and call it a day.

I always preferred to get a long rope, tie it off the chain and tie the other end off to a tree on shore. This makes retrieval easy and you don't have the risk of someone running over your bottle with a snowmobile or the ice shearing it off.
codeman671 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2016, 07:23 AM   #3
chocophile

Default Remove Chain and Hardware

Our mooring is in shallow water, so we remove all the hardware down to the eye-bolt in the rock. I think this might reduce corrosion of the galvanized parts. I have heard of people who then coat the hardware in motor oil, but we just keep ours in the shed.

The only tricky thing is getting the heavy chain back to shore. I tie a rope to it, then swim back to shore, then pull the chain back. The first time I tried to swim with the chain, I nearly drowned!
chocophile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2016, 07:50 AM   #4
Bear Guy

Default see also...

See also this brief thread on the topic.
http://www.winnipesaukee.com/forums/...read.php?t=480