Go Back   Winnipesaukee Forum > Winnipesaukee Forums > Boating
Home Forums Gallery Webcams Blogs YouTube Channel Classifieds Calendar Register FAQDonate Members List Today's Posts

Old 08-16-2015, 06:52 AM   #1
RUGMAN

Default pontoon boat

I am new to boating and pretty sure We are going to buy a used pontoon boat this fall. Looking at Bennington, Starcraft, South-bay ect. How do you decide. Looking for thoughts and recommendations as to quality of these or others. would love some guidance.
RUGMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2015, 07:38 AM   #2
Dave R

Condition is more important on a used boat than brand. I will only buy "cream puff" used boat and highly recommend you do the same. Boats that have been lovingly maintained are a pleasure to own. Boats that have been neglected are a pain to own.

There's no such thing as too much power on a boat. Get the biggest engine you can afford.

I like to have a good canvas package to enclose the cockpit on those days when the weather turns to crap. It can also extend the boating season extensively.
Dave R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2015, 08:44 AM   #3
thinkxingu

Thanked 1,962 Times in 1,212 Posts

Where are you located? If near Moultonborough, I'd be glad to meet with you, show you ours, and go over what we've figured out in one year of pontoon ownership (too much to list here).

Sent from my XT1528 using Tapatalk
thinkxingu is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to thinkxingu For This Useful Post:
RUGMAN (08-28-2015)
Old 08-16-2015, 09:20 AM   #4
pjard

Ditto offer from me, I'm in Gilford.
pjard is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to pjard For This Useful Post:
RUGMAN (08-28-2015)
Old 08-16-2015, 09:44 AM   #5
Dad sold the C * C