Winnipesaukee Forum

Winnipesaukee Forum (https://www.winnipesaukee.com/forums/index.php)
-   Winni Wildlife (https://www.winnipesaukee.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=30)
-   -   Moose around Lake Winni (https://www.winnipesaukee.com/forums/showthread.php?t=14744)

Bmcgov78 08-29-2012 04:06 PM

Moose around Lake Winni

Ive been spending my summer on Lake Winni for 35 years and have yet to see a Moose other than when I drive North of Conway. So how often are they seen around Lake Winni during the summer monthes? And are they around alot more in the Winter On the LAke?

Slickcraft 08-29-2012 05:05 PM

1 Attachment(s)
We have seen moose next to the house a few times but we are a ways up the base of the Belknap Range. The two mangy ones were about 30' from the house.

We have seen several while hiking in the Belknap Range. We have never seen one around here along the road or down in the flat lands.

Quote:

Mooses Come Walking
by Arlo Guthrie

Mooses come walking over the hill
Mooses come walking, they rarely stand still
When mooses come walking they go where they will
When mooses come walking over the hill

Mooses look into your window at night
They look to the left and they look to the right
The mooses are smiling, they think it's a zoo
And that's why the mooses like looking at you

So, if you see mooses while lying in bed
It's best to just stay there pretending you're dead
The mooses will leave and you'll get the thrill
Of seeing the mooses go over the hill

tis 08-29-2012 05:27 PM

They are around the lake. We have seen them swimming a couple of times and on land a couple of times. But I still have to say it is rare to see them.

SteveA 08-29-2012 06:17 PM

A Few

This is a link to a sighting about 4 houses from my house in Gilford from 2 months ago. This area is right near the Gilford High School.

http://ulocal.wmur.com/_Moose-in-Gil...853/63455.html